Russian and East European Historical Newspapers

The Current digest of the Soviet and post-Soviet press 
A selection, and English-language translation, of excerpts from Soviet/Russian press materials. Date coverage: 1949-present.

The Moscow Times
English-language, independent newspaper. Date coverage: 1997-2017. For latest news stories, check out their website.

Moscow News  
Digital archive of the oldest English-language newspaper in Russia. Date Coverage: 1930-2014. 

The New Times (Moscow)
English-language monthly digest of the weekly, independent, news magazine "Novoe vremia," known for its investigative reporting on domestic and foreign policy, as well as Russia's economy and history. Transitioned to online version and Russian language only in 2017. Date Coverage:  1997-2006. For the years 2007-2017, see here. :Latest news stories (in Russian) available on their website.  

The Russia Journal (Moscow) 
Weekly news magazine, focusing on Russia's economic and political situation as well as to plan leisure time in Moscow.  Date coverage: 2000-2003.

• Reprints from the Soviet press [New York, N.Y., etc., Compass Publications, 1965-1991]
  Bi-weekly print publication offering unabridged translations of selected items from Soviet national newspapers, focusing on Pravda and Izvestiia.
• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
  Fee-based access to U.S. government translations of international magazine, newspaper, and newswire stories, transcripts from speeches and radio and television. Scanned from print Daily Report issues covering various world areas, including Communist Eastern Europe. Date of coverage: 1941-1996.
• Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) reports
  Fee-based service that provides access to English language archive of translations of foreign scientific, technical, and social science materials on various world areas, including post-WII Russia and Eastern Europe. Date of coverage: 1957-1995.
• World News Connection
  Fee-based access to U.S. government translations and summaries of international magazine, newspaper, and newswire stories, transcripts from speeches and radio and television broadcasts, and non-classified technical reports on various regions, including post-Communist Eastern Europe. Successor to FBIS. Dates of coverage:1994-2013.