Skip to main content

Russian and East European Historical Newspapers

Digitized Collections

  • Dziennik Zwiazkowy
    Established in 1908 by the Polish National Alliance, Dziennik Zwiazkowy continues to be published today as the Polish Daily News. This database includes the first ten years (1908-1917) of publication, which represent local, national and international issues of utmost concern to the Polish community of Chicago at that time.
  • Russian Emigre Newspaper Collection (GPIB)
    Russian-language newspapers (164 titles) from around the world, published outside of, and usually in stark opposition to the policies of Soviet Russia.
  • Ukrainian Émigré Press Collection (CRL)
    Ninety (90) titles, published between 1945 and 1954, by various groups of Ukrainian émigrés living in Germany or other Western European countries. 
  • Canadian Ukrainian newspapers (4) are listed on the website Connecting Canadians: Canada’s Multicultural Newspapers:
    • Homin Ukraїny
    • Ukraїns’kyi robitnyk
    • Ukraїnski visti
    • Vil’ne slovo
  • American Ukrainian newspapers (2) digitized by the Immigration History Research Center, University of Minnesota:

American Newspaper Repository Collection @ Duke University Libraries

The American Newspaper Repository Collection of the Rubinstein Manuscript and Special Collections Library includes runs of trade journals, Communist papers such as the Daily Worker, and foreign language and immigrant papers, including those produced by immigrants and expatriates from Russia and Eastern Europe.Many of these runs apparently exist nowhere else in the original format, which makes this collection into a resource of major scholarly significance.

The following list of titles that may be of interest to students and scholars of Slavic and East European diasporas in the United States is taken from a preliminary inventory of the American Newspaper Repository Collection, 1856-2004, compiled by staff at the Rubinstein Library:
 

  • Advance (New York), 1921-1928 [Wrapped bundles]
  • Americki Hrvatski Glasnik  (New York, Chicago), 1954-1956 [Wrapped bundles] [Translation: "American Croatian Herald" ]
  • Amerika  (Brooklyn, NY), 1920-1925 [Bound volumes], 1946-1951 [Wrapped bundles]
  • ArbeiterZeitung, Die, 1894-1902 [Bound volumes]
  • Byelarus  (New York), 1952-1962 [Wrapped bundles]
  • Czas  (Brooklyn, NY), 1951-1973 [Wrapped bundles]
  • Daily Worker  (New York), 1943-1954 [Bound volumes], 1944, 1954-1955 [Wrapped bundles]
  • Danica  (Chicago), 1960-1973 [Wrapped bundles]
  • Dnipro  (Chicago, Philadelphia, Trenton, NJ), 1924-1926, 1928-1942 [Wrapped bundles]
  • Draugas  (Chicago), 1946-1949, 1953 [Wrapped bundles]
  • Dziennik dla Wszystkich (Buffalo, NY), 1942, 1951-1955 [Wrapped bundles]
  • Dziennik dla Wszystkich (Illustrowan Wydanie) (Buffalo, NY), 1952-1954 [Wrapped bundles]
  • Dziennik Polski, 1947-[195?] [Wrapped bundles]
  • Forward  (New York), 1917, 1920-1965 [Bound volumes], 1965-1975 [Wrapped bundles]
  • Freie Arbeiter Stimme  (New York), 1917, 1950-1962 [Wrapped bundles]
  • Glos Narodu  (Jersey City), 1949-1955 [Wrapped bundles][Translation: "The People's Voice"]
  • Katolik  (Chicago), 1961-1973 [Wrapped bundles]
  • Katolikus Magyarok Vasarnapja  (Cleveland, Youngstown, OH), 1949-1955, 1961-1965, 1968 [Wrapped bundles][Translation: "Catholic Hungarian Sunday"]
  • Labor Action  (New York), 1942, 1946-1947, 1952-1954, 1956-1958 [Wrapped bundles]
  • Magyar Szabad Sag  (New Jersey), 1963-1965 [Wrapped bundles]
  • Magyarsag  (Pittsburgh), 1957-1965 [Wrapped bundles]
  • Militant, The (New York), 1942-1960, 1962, 1964, 1976 [Bound volumes], 1961, 1963-1964, 1966, 1968-1973 [Wrapped bundles]
  • Narodna Volya  (Scranton, PA), 1934, 1936-1939, 1948-1973 [Wrapped bundles][Translation: "People's Will"]
  • Narodne Noviny  (Pittsburgh), 1951 May-1952 June [Wrapped bundles][Translation: "National News"; National Slovak Society of the United States of America]
  • Narodne Slovo  (Pittsburgh), 1938-1939 , 1948-1964 [Wrapped bundles][Translation: "The National Word"; Organ of Ukranian National Aid Association of America; See also Ukrainske Narodne Slovo]
  • Nasa Nada  (Chicago), 1961-1962, 1964-1971, 1973 [Wrapped bundles][Translation: "Our Hope"]
  • New York American, 1916-1917 [Bound volumes]
  • New Yorske Listy (New York), 1945-1947 [Wrapped bundles]
  • Novoe Russkoe Slovo (New York), 1920-1921, 1944-1955, 1957, 1960-1968 [Wrapped bundles][Translation: "New Russian Word"]
  • Nowy Swiat (New York), 1944-1945, 1951-1954 [Wrapped bundles]
  • Patryota (Philadelphia), 1950-1955 [Wrapped bundles]
  • Polish American Journal (Scranton, PA), 1950-1955 [Wrapped bundles]
  • Radnicka Borba (Detroit), 1905, 1961-1964, 1966-1968 [Wrapped bundles][Translation: "Workers' Struggle"]
  • Robotnik Polski (New York), 1942-1967 [Wrapped bundles]
  • Russkaia Zhizn' (San Francisco), 1964-1969 [Wrapped bundles][Translation: "Russan Life Daily"]
  • Russkii Golos (New York), 1930, 1949 [Wrapped bundles]
  • Sloboda (Chicago), 1954-1973 [Wrapped bundles][Translation: "Liberty"]
  • Slovak v Amerike (New York, Middletown, PA), 1945-1946, 1952, 1967-1973 [Wrapped bundles]
  • Socialist Appeal, 1938-1941 [Bound volumes]
  • Svoboda (New York, Jersey City), 1920-1925 [Bound volumes], 1926-1971 [Wrapped bundles][Alternate title: Ukranian Daily]
  • Szabad Magyarsag  (New York), 1959-1962 [Wrapped bundles]
  • Tygodnik Polski  (New York), 1943, 1945-1947 [Wrapped bundles]
  • Ukrainske Narodne Slovo  (Pittsburgh), 1965-1973 [Wrapped bundles][See also Narodne Slovo]
  • Ukrainske Zhyttia  (Chicago), 1956-1973 [Wrapped bundles][Translation: "Ukrainian Life"]
  • Ukrainskyi Prometei  (Detroit), 1952-1956, 1958 [Wrapped bundles][Translation: "Ukrainian Prometheus"]
  • Vienybe  (Brooklyn, NY), 1926-1940, 1946-1954 [Wrapped bundles
  • Vienybe Lietuvninku (Brooklyn, NY), 1890 [Wrapped bundles], 1891-1910, 1913-1916, 1918-1925 [Bound volumes]
  • Worker (New York), 1943, 1945-1955, 1959-1968 [Wrapped bundles]
  • Workers' Vanguard  (New York), 1974-1976, 1986-1987 [Wrapped bundles]