LibGuides: Newspapers in the Duke University Libraries: United States Newspapers

17th-18th Century

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Comprises U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states. Based on OCR of microfilm, this database is not always easy to search effectively. See "help" section for advice on using wildcard searches.

Microfilm Outside of Duke and Original Newspapers
See these two sections on the Getting Started page of this guide.

19th Century

19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable database containing digital facsimile images of newspapers; presented as full page layout as well as single articles; advertisements and illustrations included. This collection includes numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.; and it encompasses the entire 19th century.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Comprises U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states. Based on OCR of microfilm, this database is not always easy to search effectively. See "help" section for advice on using wildcard searches.

Microfilm Outside of Duke and Original Newspapers
See these two sections on the Getting Started page of this guide.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Atlanta Constitution This link opens in a new window
The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1942) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Note: This is an ongoing digitization project. Three additional years of journal coverage will be added every year.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
Full-page images and article images from the Chicago tribune under all its title variants.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Database offers full-page images and article images from the Los Angeles Daily Times (1881-1886) and the Los Angeles Times (1886-1984). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format. Current files for 1985-1996 and 1997- to date are searched separately.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-page-images and article images from the New York times from its first issue in 1851 to three years before the current date. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. The database is an ongoing project.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal (1889-1994) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post This link opens in a new window
The Washington Post (1877-1993) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

20th-21st Century

Alternative Press Index Archive This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals that cover the period of 1969 through 1990. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. If a citation doesn't link to the full text of the article, check the microfilm Underground Press Collection, 1963-1985, call # S178A; Underground newspaper collection, 1963-1985, call # S178; and Alternative Press Collection, 1986-2011, call # S178.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of over 6,000 sources including newspapers, journals, news wire services, newsletters, campus publications, company reports, case law, government documents, trade publications, broadcast transcripts, and selected reference works. Some sources go back to the 1970s, but most to the 1980s or 1990s.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
Search for news articles from the Chicago Tribune from 1849-2014
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Database offers full-page images and article images from the Los Angeles Daily Times (1881-1886) and the Los Angeles Times (1886-1984). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format. Current files for 1985-1996 and 1997- to date are searched separately.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Atlanta Constitution This link opens in a new window
The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1942) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Note: This is an ongoing digitization project. Three additional years of journal coverage will be added every year.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-page-images and article images from the New York times from its first issue in 1851 to three years before the current date. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. The database is an ongoing project.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal (1889-1994) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post This link opens in a new window
The Washington Post (1877-1993) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

African American, Latino, and Ethnic Newspapers

Searching by subject (e.g. African Americans North Carolina Newspapers or Hispanic Americans California Newspapers) will turn up some newspaper titles in the library catalog. The use of subject headings is not consistent, so you may need to determine the titles of newspapers in order to locate them in the catalog. Newspaper directories such as the ones listed on the Evaluating Newspapers section of the Getting Started page may be helpful. You may also wish to consult secondary sources. Start by searching the catalog for subjects such as African American Newspapers Directories or African American Newspapers History.

African American Studies--Journals, Newspapers & Magazines

African American Newspapers (1827-1998) This link opens in a new window
Search across the full-text of African-American newspapers
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of articles from the following newspapers: Freedom's journal, 1827-1829 ; Colored American, 1837-1841 ; The North star, 1847-1851 ; National era, 1847-1860 ; Provincial freeman, 1854-1857 ; Frederick Douglass paper, 1851-1855 ; Douglass' monthly, 1859-1863 ; The Christian recorder, 1861-1902 (excluding 1892). The newspapers can be searched individually or as a group.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Black Studies Center brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), historical black newspapers, and the Black Literature Index. Full text of the Chicago Defender, 1910-1975 and the Daily Defender, 1956-1975. The Black Literature Index provides over 70,000 bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Two resources: Ethnic NewsWatch™, a current collection covering 1990-present; and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, an historical collection covering the years 1959-1989. Includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Focuses on African American, Latino American, and Native American publications.
Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980) This link opens in a new window
Selected from among the newspapers in the Readex database, America's Historical Newspapers.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Atlanta Daily World This link opens in a new window
Search for news articles from the Atlanta Daily World from 1931-2010
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Cleveland Call and Post This link opens in a new window
Search for news articles from the Cleveland Call and Post from 1934-2009
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Sentinel This link opens in a new window
Search for news articles from the Los Angeles Sentinel from 1934-2010
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Amsterdam News This link opens in a new window
Search for news articles from the New York Amsterdam News from 1922-2010
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Norfolk Journal and Guide This link opens in a new window
Search for news articles from the Norfolk Journal and Guide from 1916-2010
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Philadelphia Tribune This link opens in a new window
Search for news articles from the Philadelphia Tribune from 1912-2010
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Pittsburgh Courier This link opens in a new window
Search for news articles from the Pittsburgh Courier from 1911-2010
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Baltimore Afro-American This link opens in a new window
Search for news articles from the Baltimore Afro-American from 1893-2010