Athletics at Duke University

Publications produced by Duke University departments and organizations provide contemporary accounts of campus events, and are often a good source for gauging student, faculty, and staff reactions to campus issues. Most publications are not fully indexed, or have indexes that are available only at the Duke University Archives, as indicated below.

For additional titles, try searching the Libraries' catalog with the subject heading "Duke University -- Periodicals" or "Duke University -- Students -- Periodicals."

GoDuke Magazine

• This current magazine about Duke Athletics began publishing in August 2009.
• No index is available.

Blue Devil Weekly

• The predecessor to Go Duke Magazine, Blue Devil Weekly began publishing in 1991.
• No index is available.

Devilirium

• Published by the Sports Information Office between 1978-1993.
• No index is available.

The Duke Chronicle

• Our student newspaper began publishing as The Trinity Chronicle on December 19, 1905. Most issues contain a sports section, or at least several articles about Duke University sports teams and sporting events.
• Issues of The Chronicle dating from December 19, 1905-May 2000 have been digitized and made available online.
• Beginning around 1993, articles are available online at The Duke Chronicle's website. Please note that the online archives of The Duke Chronicle does not reproduce advertisements, including classified ads.

Chanticleer

• The Chanticleer—our student yearbook—published its first volume in spring 1912 (covering the 1911-1912 academic year).
• Access digitized copies of the Chanticleer, as part of of the Internet Archive. 
• Sports teams—including game action shots—are usually pictured in the Chanticleer. Early editions often provide a recap of the year's football season.

The Trinity Archive

• Before The Trinity Chronicle began to publish in December 1905, the school's literary magazine, the Trinity Archive, functioned as a source of campus news and thought. The Archive is still being published, but is now strictly a literary magazine.
• An index to the Trinity Archive (covering November 1887 to May 1932) is available online as part of the Duke University Libraries' Internet Archive collection.
• Access digitized copies of the Trinity Archive as part of the Duke University Libraries' Internet Archive collection.
• Early issues of the Trinity Archive are particularly excellent for coverage of Trinity College's baseball team.

The Duke Alumni Register

• Published by Trinity College's—and later Duke University's—Alumni Association starting in April 1915, the Alumni Register contains articles on campus milestones, events, trends, and people, as well as alumni updates.
• Subject and name indexes are available as card files in the Duke University Archives. Please contact University Archives staff for assistance.
• Access digitized copies of the Alumni Register (1915-1975) as part of the Duke University Libraries' Internet Archive collection.

Duke Magazine

• The successor to the Alumni Register, Duke Magazine began to publish in 1984.
• Access digitized copies of Duke Magazine as part of the Duke University Libraries' Internet Archive collection.
• Access the full text of Duke Magazine articles on Duke Magazine's website.