Athletics at Duke University

The majority of the sports-related photographs available at the Duke University Archives are housed in five collections:

• University Archives Photograph Collection, 1861-ongoing

• University Archives Photographic Negative Collection, 1855-1995

• University Photography Visual Materials, circa 1960s-2003: this collection is currently being processed. Please contact the Duke University Archives to request assistance in locating photographs in this collection.

• Sports Information Visual Materials Collection, 1930-ongoing: this collection is currently being processed. Please contact the Duke University Archives to request assistance in locating photographs in this collection.

• Sports Information Office Photographic Negatives Collection, ca. 1924-1992, 1995, and undated

These collections may be reviewed in our reading room, where scanning equipment is available for your use at no charge. Additional fee-based reproduction services are also offered.

Many of the photographs from these collections have been digitized and made available online as part of our Flickr photostream.

• These may be downloaded directly from Flickr for private research, study, and teaching (with credit given to the "Duke University Archives").
• Please contact us to request permission for other uses of these materials, such as in commercial products or for broadcast or publication.

The Duke University Archives has an extensive collection of coaching films of football and men's basketball games. Inventories are available online:

• Men's Basketball Game Film Collection, 1947-1996
• Football Game Film Collection, 1934-2007

Brief clips of a limited number of these films are currently available for viewing online; click the green "Online Access" banner at the websites above to view them.

Contact the University Archives to ask about getting digital copies of these films.

You may also want to check the Duke University Archives audio recording, film, and video collections listed below for audio or film from sporting events.

• Sports Information Office Records, 1932-ongoing: audio recordings of football and men's basketball games date from 1982-1985.

• Radio TV Services Records, ca. 1937-1988

• Media Services Audio and Video Records, 1963-ongoing

• WDBS Collection, 1949-1983

• Cable 13 Videotapes, 1976-1982

Use copies of these recordings may have to be prepared before they may be viewed or listened to; please contact the Duke University Archives staff to inquire about using these recordings.

To locate additional audio and video recordings, try searching the Duke University Libraries' catalog with the subject heading "Sound Recordings" or "Video Recordings."