Athletics at Duke University

The following secondary source materials contain information about Duke University athletics. Clicking on the links will take you to the catalog record for each item.

Many of the secondary sources listed below are the products of research using Duke University Archives collections. As you read these secondary sources, take careful note of their footnotes; they will point you to University Archives collections that may be helpful to your own research.

General

• Martin, Charles H. "The Rise and Fall of Jim Crow in Southern College Sports: The Case of the Atlantic Coast Conference." The North Carolina Historical Review. 76. 3 (July 1999): 253-284.

• Mendes, Lexi. "Athletics or Academics? An Analysis of Student-Athlete Collegiate Priorities." Senior honors paper, 2016. Full text available via DukeSpace.

Basketball

• Blythe, Will. To Hate like This is to Be Happy Forever: A Thoroughly Obsessive, Intermittently Uplifting and Occasionally Unbiased Account of the Duke-North Carolina Basketball Rivalry. New York City: HarperCollins, 2006.

• Brill, Bill and Mike Krzyzewski. A Season is a Lifetime: The Inside Story of the Duke Blue Devils and Their Championship Seasons. New York City: Simon & Schuster, 1993.

• Bowling, Lewis. Duke Basketball: A Pictorial History. Charleston: History Press, 2008.

• Chansky, Art. Blue Blood: Duke-Carolina: Inside the Most Storied Rivalry in College Hoops. New York City: T. Dunne Books, 2005.

• Cragg, Mike. Back to Back: Duke :The Story of Duke's 1992 NCAA Basketball Championship. Durham: Duke University Press, 1992.

• Cragg, Mike and Mike Sobb. Crowning Glory: The Story of Duke's 1991 Championship Season. 1991.

• Cromartie, Bill. Battle of the Blues. Atlanta: Gridiron Pub., c1992.

• Dinin, Aaron. The Krzyzewskiville Tales. Durham: Duke University Press, 2005.

• Duke University Athletics Association. Championship Dance: A Celebration of Duke Basketball's Title Season. Durham: Duke University Athletics Association, c2001.

• Featherson, Alwyn. Tobacco Road: Duke, Carolina, N.C. State, Wake Forest, and the History of the Most Intense Backyard Rivalries in Sports. Guilford: Lyons Press, c2006.

• Feinstein, John. Forever's Team. New York City: Villard, 1990.

• Futrell, Ashley B., Jr. "From Cap Gun to H-bomb: Continuing Justifications for Basketball within the Academic Community of Trinity College and Duke University, 1906-1942." History 195/196 Research Paper, 1978. From the Dept. of History Records, box 2.

• Harris, Bob. How Sweet It Is!: From the Cotton Mill to the Crows' Nest. Raleigh: 2D Designs, 2010.

• Krzyzewski, Mike with Donald T. Phillips. Five-Point Play: Duke's Journey to the 2001 National Championship. New York City: Warner Books, 2001.

• Landwehr, Hazel. Home Court: Fifty Years of Cameron Indoor Stadium. Durham: Phoenix Communications, c1989.

• Moore, Johnny and Art Chansky. The Blue Divide: Duke, North Carolina, and the Battle on Tobacco Road. 
• Chicago: Triumph Books, 2014. E-book available here. 

• Morris, Ron et al. ACC Basketball: An Illustrated History. Chapel Hill, NC: Four Corners, c1988.

• Roth, John. The Encyclopedia of Duke Basketball. Durham: Duke University Press, 2006.

• Wojciechowski, Gene. The Last Great Game: Duke vs. Kentucky and the 2.1 Seconds that Changed Basketball. New York: Blue Rider Press, 2012.

Football

• Bowling, Lewis. Wallace Wade: Championship Years at Alabama and Duke. Durham: Carolina Academic Press, c2006.

• Jacobs, Michael J. "The 1942 Rose Bowl: A Story of War Adjustment and Southern Pride." 1987. From the Student Papers Reference Collection, box 1.

• Malechek, David. "Attitudes Toward Football at Trinity College and Duke University: A Study in Shifting Values, 1887-1943." History 195/196 Research Paper, 1976.  From the Dept. of History Records, box 3.

• Mann, Ted. A Story of Glory: Duke University Football. Greenville: Doorway Publishers, c1985.
• Snyder, Bruce. "Wallace, Football at Duke, and Goals of Higher Education." History 195/196 Research Paper, 1974. From the Dept. of History Records, box 4.

• Staggers, Michelle. "My Brother's Keeper: Two Generations of Black Duke Football Players." Senior honors paper, 2019. Full text available via DukeSpace.

• Sumner, Jim L. "John Franklin Crowell, Methodism, and the Football Controversy at Trinity College, 1887-1894." Journal of Sport History. 17.1 (Spring 1990): 5-20.

Baseball

• Groat, Dick. I Hit and Ran. Durham: Moore Pub. Co., c1978.

• Kessler, Jeff. "Duke's Field of Dreams." 1998. From the Student Papers Reference Collection, box 1.

• Tenney, Bryan E. "A History of Duke Baseball, 1889-1980." History 195/196 Research Paper, 1980. From the Dept. of History Records, box 4.

• Tierney, John P. Jack Coombs: A Life in Baseball. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co., c2008.

Other Sports

• Muhammad, Ibtihaj. Proud: My Fight for an Unlikely American Dream. New York: Hachette Books, 2018.

• Rowbury, Shannon. "The Changing Face of Women’s Sports at Duke: From Throwing Like a Girl to Competing with the Men." Education 146S Research Paper, 2006.

• Unell, Amy. Starting at the Finish Line: Coach Al Buehler's Timeless Wisdom. New York City: Perigee, c2012.