LibGuides: Introduction to Duke University History: Archival Collections

Contact the Duke University Archives

Duke University Archives

at the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library

Visit our website!

Starting Your Research with Quick Reference Collections

Drawing of the Duke Blue Devil, circa 1940s Quick reference collections are prepared by Duke University Archives staff to provide brief overviews of popular topics in Duke University's history. You may want to begin your research by studying the materials in these collections as a way of orienting yourself to your research topic.

Below, you'll find a list of our most frequently-consulted reference collections, including links to their collection guides. To see catalog records for all of our reference collections, click here.

Collections about Duke University Academic Departments & Schools:

Collections about Duke University Student Life:

Other Frequently-Consulted Collections:

Athletics Reference collection, 1888-2005
Files on often-studied events in Duke athletic history, as well as documentation about individual teams and the athletics administration.

For more in-depth research needs, check out our Duke University Athletics LibGuide or contact the Duke University Archives staff.

Biographical Reference Collection, 1972-2004
Files of clippings, writings, curricula vitae, bibliographies, and sources of other biographical information on Duke administrators, faculty, and selected students and staff.

For additional biographical information, you'll want to look at the News Service Biographical Files.

Black History at Duke Reference Collection, 1948-ongoing
Documentation on African-American students, faculty, and staff, as well as the development of African American Studies and African-American student organizations.

For more in-depth research needs, check out our Black History at Duke University LibGuide or contact the Duke University Archives staff.

Blue Devil Reference Collection, 1972-ongoing
An overview of the development of the Blue Devil, including the history of the selection of the Blue Devil as Duke University's mascot and the evolution of the Blue Devil costume.
Building Reference Collection, 1972-2004
Documentation on the original construction and architecture, renovation, and uses of Duke University campus buildings and statues. This collection frequently includes dedication and other ceremonial programs and information about the source of each building's name.

To find photographs of these buildings, you'll want to consult our University Archives Photograph Collection or our Flickr photostream.
Contact the Duke University Archives staff to discuss the availability of architectural plans and related documents.

Chapel Reference Collection, 1933-ongoing
Documentation about Duke's most well-known building, including information about the Chapel's construction and decoration and a comprehensive index of sermons.
Firsts Reference Collection, 1906-ongoing
Documentation about African-American, athletics, academic, alumni, faculty, and women's firsts.
Sarah P. Duke Garden Reference Collection, 1934-ongoing
An overview of the history of one of Duke's most popular features, including annual reports, clippings, and information about the Gardens' design.

For more in-depth research, including detailed design and planting specifications, you'll want to consult the Sarah P. Duke Gardens Records.

Signs and Symbols Reference Collection, 1972-ongoing
resource for historical information about Duke's major symbols, including Duke blue, the Duke shield, and Duke's motto--everything except the Blue Devil, which has its own reference collection (see above)!
Subject Files Reference Collection, 1859-ongoing
A useful source for articles about Duke published in international and national media, as well as documentation about Duke governance and tradition.
University Policies Reference Collection, 1933-ongoing
Documentation on the evolution of selected Duke policies, including drugs and alcohol, sexual harassment, protests and demonstrations, and bonfires.
University Reports Reference Collection, 1959-ongoing
A collection of major reports on Duke's accreditation, strategic planning, schools and divisions, campus planning, student life, and curriculum.