Introduction to Duke University History

Books and Other Publications

• Chaffin, Nora Campbell. Trinity College, 1839-1892: The Beginnings of Duke University. Durham: Duke University Press, 1950. (print copy)
• York, Brantley. The Autobiography of Brantley York. Durham, NC: The Seeman Printery, 1910. (print copy or ebook available via HathiTrust)
• Other publications by Brantley York available at the Duke University Libraries.

Archival Collections

Books and Other Publications

• Chaffin, Nora Campbell. Trinity College, 1839-1892: The Beginnings of Duke University. Durham: Duke University Press, 1950. (print copy)
• Dowd, Jerome. The Life of Braxton Craven, A Biographical Approach to Social Science. Durham, NC: Duke University Press, 1939. (print copy or ebook available via Internet Archive)
• Other publications by Braxton Craven available at the Duke University Libraries.

Archival Collections

Books and Other Publications  

• Lawrence, Marquis Wood. The Life of Marquis Lafayette Wood as Shown by his Diary. 1930. Duke University, BD thesis. (print copy or ebook available via Internet Archive)
• Lawrence, Cheryl M. The Tai'ping Rebellion as Seen Through the Eyes of Marquis L. Wood, Methodist Episcopal Church, South, Missionary to China. 2006. Methodist History Volume XLIV (July 2006) Number 4: pp. 227-238. (PDF available online)

Archival Collections

Books and Other Publications

• Crowell, John Franklin. Personal Recollections of Trinity College, North Carolina, 1887-1894. Durham, NC: Duke University Press, 1939. (print copy or ebook available via Internet Archive)
• Other publications by John Franklin Crowell available at the Duke University Libraries.

Archival Collections

Books and Other Publications

• Garber, Paul Neff. John Carlisle Kilgo, President of Trinity College, 1894-1910. Durham, NC: Duke University Press, 1937. (print copy)
• Rowe, Gilbert T. "John Carlisle Kilgo, Preacher and Educator." The Methodist Quarterly Review LXXI, no. 4 (1922). 655. (available online)
• Tucker, Roger Wilkins. John C. Kilgo, Christian Thinker, Preacher, and Leader. 1946. Duke University, BD thesis. (print copy)
• Walters, Kevin L. "Balancing Freedom and Unity: John Carlisle Kilgo and the Unification of Methodism in America." Methodist History Volume XLVIII (October 2009) Number 1: pp. 43-57. (available online)
• Other publications by or about John C. Kilgo available at the Duke University Libraries.

Archival Collections

Books and Other Publications

• Durden, Robert F. The Launching of Duke University, 1924-1949. Durham: Duke University Press, 1993. (print copy OR ebook)
• The Inauguration of William Preston Few as President of Trinity College, November 9, 1910. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1910. (print copy OR ebook available via HathiTrust)
• Porter, Earl W. Trinity and Duke, 1892-1924. Durham: Duke University Press, 1964. (print copy OR ebook available via Internet Archive)
• Vereen, LeFon Carpenter. William Preston Few as a Christian educator (1910-1940). 1946 thesis, Duke University. (print copy)
• Woody, Robert H., ed. The Papers and Addresses of William Preston Few, Late President of Duke University. Durham, NC: Duke University Press, 1951. (print copy or ebook available via Internet Archive)
• Other publications by William P. Few available at the Duke University Libraries.

Archival Collections

Books and Other Publications 

• Durden, Robert F. The Launching of Duke University, 1924-1949. Durham: Duke University Press, 1993. (print copy OR ebook)

Archival Collections

Books and Other Publications

• Durden, Robert F. The Launching of Duke University, 1924-1949. Durham: Duke University Press, 1993. (print copy OR ebook)

• Durden, Robert F. “Donnybrook at Duke: The Gross-Edens Affair of 1960: Part I.” The North Carolina Historical Review 71, no. 3 (1994): 331–57. (available online)

• Durden, Robert F. “Donnybrook at Duke: The Gross-Edens Affair of 1960: Part II.” The North Carolina Historical Review 71, no. 4 (1994): 451–71. (available online)

Archival Collections

Books and Other Publications

• Knight, Douglas M. The Dancer and the Dance: One Man's Chronicle, 1938-2001: Yale, Lawrence, Duke, Questar: The Individual, the Community, the Educated Life. New York City: Separate Star, c2003. (print copy)
• Knight, Douglas M. Street of Dreams: The Nature and Legacy of the 1960s. Durham, NC: Duke University Press, 1989. (print copy)
• Segal, Theodore D. Point of Reckoning: The Fight for Racial Justice at Duke University. Durham: Duke University Press, 2021. (print copy or ebook)
• Other publications by Douglas M. Knight available at the Duke University Libraries.

Archival Collections

Books and Other Publications

• Hart, J. Deryl. The First Forty Years at Duke in Surgery and the P.D.C. Durham, NC: Duke University, c1971. (print copy)
• Hart, Deryl. A backward glance: a report on Duke University, 1960-1963. Durham, NC: 1963. (print copy)

• Sabiston, D C (1983). "Deryl Hart: leader in the development of the Duke University Medical Center.". North Carolina medical journal (0029-2559), 44 (7), p. 441. (request via ILL)

Archival Collections

Books and Other Publications

• Covington, Howard E., Jr. and Marion Ellis. Terry Sanford: Politics, Progress, and Outrageous Ambitions. Durham: Duke University Press, 1999. (print copy or ebook)
• Other publications by Terry Sanford available at the Duke University Libraries.

Archival Collections

Owing to his wide-ranging political career, several archival repositories in the area hold additional collections of Terry Sanford's records and papers:

• UNC-Chapel Hill's Southern Historical Collection holds personal/family papers and materials relating to his political campaigns.
• The State Archives of NC holds his records from his 1961-1965 term as NC governor.

Books and Other Publications

• Brodie, H. Keith H. and Leslie Banner. Keeping an Open Door: Passages in a University Presidency. Durham, NC: Duke University Press, 1996. (print copy or ebook available via Internet Archive)
• Brodie, H. Keith H. and Leslie Banner. The Research University Presidency in the Late Twentieth Century: A Life Cycle/Case History Approach. Westport, CT: Praeger Publishers, 2005. (print copy)

Archival Collections

Books and Other Publications

• Keohane, Nannerl O. Higher Ground: Ethics and Leadership in the Modern University. Durham: Duke University Press, 2006. (print copy or ebook)
• Keohane, Nannerl O. Thinking about Leadership. Princeton: Princeton University Press, c2010. (print copy or ebook)

Archival Collections

Books and Other Publications

• Brodhead, Richard H. The Good of this Place: Values and Challenges in College Education. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2004. (print copy or ebook)
• Brodhead, Richard H. Speaking of Duke: Leading the 21st-Century University. Durham: Duke University Press, 2017. (print copy or ebook)

Archival Collections