LibGuides: Parish and Denominational Studies (Divinity): Baptist

Databases

ATLA Religion Database
Indexes journals and book essays in religion and theology. Suggested search term includes "Baptists."
Digital library of classic Protestant texts
Contains primary texts of an extensive range of seminal works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras. Includes theological writings, biblical commentaries, confessional documents, and polemical treatises written by more than 300 Protestant authors
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
A definitive resource for research on 17th and 18th century American history and life including such varied topics as agriculture, foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, science, philosophy, the Revolutionary War, temperance, and witchcraft.
Early English Books Online
EEBO reproduces over 125,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides published in English between 1475 and 1700.
Eighteenth century collections online
The complete works of many 18th century authors, women writers of the 18th century and French Revolution collections are included
World Christian Database
Based on World Christian Encyclopedia and World Christian Trends, information is readily available on religious activities, growth rates, religious literature, worker activity, population, health, education, and communications.

Periodicals

Review and Expositor (1906-Current)
Sponsored by Campbell Divinity School, McAfee School of Theology, and the Baptist Theological Seminary at Richmond, this long-running publication provides Baptist interpretations and commentary on theological issues. Also available online through ATLA (1947-current).

Baptist Quarterly (1940-Current)
Published by the Baptist Historical Society and focuses on both Baptist history and current issues. Also available online through ATLA (1949-current with a one year delay).

Baptist History and Heritage (1965-Current)
Published by the Baptist History & Heritage Society and generally focuses on promoting interest and research on Baptist history. Also available online through ATLA (indexes 1965-current with a two year delay) and Academic OneFile (indexes 1999-current)

Baptists Today (2009-Current)
A monthly magazine aimed at general readers, rather than a scholarly audience, focusing on contemporary Baptist life, news, and issues. Not available electronically.

Complete list of Baptist church periodicals at Duke

Internet Resources

Recent internet resources added on the subject of "Baptist" See more bookmarks at our Delicious page.

Search for Books

Here are some examples of subject headings that can be used when searching for books on the Baptist church in Duke's library catalog or in other library catalogs via WorldCat. Use the facets on the left hand side of the search results page to further refine results.

Baptists	Baptist Associations
Baptists -- Doctrines	Baptists -- History

Materials on the Baptist church are generally listed under the call numbers BX6201 through BX6495.

Reference Books

Dictionary of European Baptist Life and Thought
Call Number: Ref BX6211 .D54 2009 in Divinity
The Dictionary of European Baptist Life and Thought focuses on Baptism in Europe, presenting a European Baptist opinion on major Baptist issues, history, and individuals. Entries range from brief paragraphs to multiple page essays depending on the subject, and many provide suggested resources for further study. This is a great work to use when studying Baptists in Europe, which may not receive much attention otherwise.
Historical Dictionary of the Baptists
Call Number: Ref BX6211 .B73 2009 in Divinity
The Historical Dictionary of the Baptists provides a wealth of information on Baptism, with a particular focus on Baptists in America. In addition to a comprehensive dictionary containing definitions and explanations of a variety of Baptist terms, figures, and ideas, the Historical Dictionary also provides a chronology of the Baptist movement and a brief essay introducing the Baptist faith and its background. An extensive bibliography is also included for further research.
Encyclopedia of Southern Baptists
Call Number: Ref BX6211 .E5 1958 at Divinity
The Encyclopedia of Southern Baptists is a comprehensive encyclopedia encompassing all things related to the Southern Baptist tradition. There is a strong emphasis on individuals and organizations important to Southern Baptists, but there are also entries on concepts and figures relating to Christianity. Although the encyclopedia is a great resource for research on Southern Baptists, it was published in 1958, meaning it lacks more recent scholarship.
Dictionary of Baptists in America
Call Number: Ref BX6211 .D53 1994 in Divinity
The Dictionary of Baptists in America provides information on Baptist figures, terms, institutions, and theology with a particular focus on the Baptist tradition in America. Although entries are brief, they do provide a brief bibliography for investigating the topic further. This is a great resource to consult when you need to quickly check the definition or learn more about a term relating to Baptists in America.

Parish and Denominational Studies (Divinity): Baptist

Databases

Periodicals

Internet Resources

Search for Books

Reference Books

Research Tools

Contact Us

Services for...