Provides a total of 3,130 cases of Korean War and the Vietnam War materials, including information on leading patriots, the two wars and battles, battle sites, monuments, weapons, military relics, military terms, and photographs concerning the wars and military history.
Explores the origins, conduct, military strategies and political implications of this pivotal Cold War struggle. Presents rare archival film footage, combined with interviews of American veterans of the Korean War.
This program provides a brief overview of the partitioning of Korea; the battles for Seoul, Inchon, and Pusan; the entry of Chinese troops into the war as United States marines approached the Manchurian border; General MacArthur's famous speech to Congress; and the armistice at Panmunjom and the establishment of the demilitarized buffer zone. The program also shows the war's aftermath in the North: the rebuilding of Pyongyang; the institution of Kim Il Sung's personality cult, and his exhortation to achieve communism by undergoing cultural and technical revolutions and collectivizing labor; and North Korea today. In portraying South Korea, the program follows the parade of riots and assassinations as the country teetered between repression and promises of democracy. South Korea's economy appears strong but precarious. And the buffer zone still stands-one of the last remaining monuments of the East-West confrontation.
The Korean conflict is often called 'The Forgotten War', but never been by those who lived it. In this film, notable personalities and trench soldiers share their memories.
Baptism by Fire: CIA Analysis of the Korean WarThis collection includes more than 1,300 documents consisting of national estimates, intelligence memo, daily updates, and summaries of foreign media concerning developments on the Korean Peninsula during 1947 - 1954. The release of this collection, which coincides with the 60th anniversary of the start of the war, makes available to the public the largest collection of Agency documents released on this issue. The release of these documents is in conjunction with the conference, "New Documents and New Histories: Twenty-First Century Perspectives on the Korean War," co-hosted by the Harry S. Truman Presidential Library and the CIA in Independence, Missouri.
China and The Korean War - Wilson CenterA collection of materials documenting China's involvement in all stages of the Korean War. For more coverage of the Korean War on the Digital Archive, see the collections: (1) Korean War Origins, 1945-1950; (2) Korean War, 1950-1953; (3) Korean War Armistice; and (4) Korean War Biological Warfare Allegations.
Eagle Forward: Newspaper of the 24th Infantry Regiment, Korea, 1950-1951The Eagle Forward was an official military publication that ran from September 14, 1950, to October 1, 1951. It was published by and for personnel of the 24th Infantry Regiment under supervision of the Public Information Office, 24th Infantry Regiment, Korea, APO 25. The African-American 24th Infantry was one of the last segregated regiments in the U.S. Army.
Forgotten: The Arkansas Korean War ProjectIn 2008, the Butler Center for Arkansas Studies initiated "FORGOTTEN: The Arkansas Korean War Project" to document and preserve Arkansas's role in the war. Brian Robertson and Stephanie Bayless in the manuscripts division of the Butler Center lead this project and are collecting the information. The project consists of three components:
We are asking veterans to fill out a survey about their experiences, and we are conducting oral history interviews with them.
We are collecting archival materials from veterans — letters, documents, diaries, photographs, etc. — that will be housed in the Butler Center.
As these surveys, interviews, and materials are collected and processed, we will be adding information and highlighting portions of the collection on this website.
Korean War EducatorThe Korean War Educator website provided by civilians and veterans, seeks historically accurate information and photographs on the Korean War.
Korean War Propaganda Leaflet Collection (Library of the Congress)The Korean War Propaganda Leaflet Collection in the Asian Division of the Library of Congress provides a unique look into psychological warfare during the Korean War (1950-1953). The digital collection at the Library of Congress consists of five Korean War Propaganda Leaflet Collection categories:
[Han'guk Chŏnjaenggi tae Pukhan chŏndanji]
[Han'guk Chŏnjaenggi Chunggonggun chŏndanji]
[Safe conduct pass]
[Chugan sinbo Chayu segye oe]
Na nŭn kongsandang ŭi hŭisaengmul i toeda
Korean War Propaganda Leaflets (NDSU Archives)During the Korean War, North Dakota native Albert G. Brauer served as Chief of the Projects Branch, Psychological Warfare Division, G3 section. He was responsible for overseeing the creation of propaganda pamphlets that were airdropped over North Korea. This collection contain propaganda leaflets produced by the United States Army a as well as leaflets produced by the communist forces in Korea. The NDSU Archives collects, preserves, and provides access to historically significant materials that document the history of NDSU (North Dakota State University) and North Dakota.
Korean War (Getty Images)Browse korean war photos and images available, or search for korean war memorial or korean war veterans memorial to find more great photos and pictures from Getty Images
Korean War Origins, 1945-1950This collection of primary source documents sheds light on the question of "who started the Korean War?" For more coverage of the Korean War on the Digital Archive, see the collections: Korean War, 1950-1953; Korean War Armistice; China and the Korean War; and Korean War Biological Warfare Allegations. For a collections resource guide see The Korean War: Collections & Resources on DigitalArchive.org.
Korean War, 1950-1953 (Digital Archive by Wilson Center)A collection of primary source documents related to the Korean War. Obtained largely from Russian archives, the documents include reports on Chinese and Soviet aid to North Korea, allegations that America used biological weapons, and the armistice.
Korean War: Veterans History Project (Library of Congress)The project collects first-hand accounts of U.S. Veterans from the wars including Korean War (1950-1955); Includes personal narratives (audio and video-taped interviews, written memoirs) correspondence (letters, postcards, mail, personal diaries) and visual materials (photographs, drawings, scrapbooks) etc
Korean War Armistice (Wilson Center Digital Archive)On July 27, 1953, the Korean Armistice Agreement was signed, ceasing hostilities and bringing an end to the Korean War. This collection contains Russian, Chinese, and Polish documents on the armistice negotiations which span the nearly two-year period of talks (July 1951-July 1953), shedding light on North Korean, Soviet, and Chinese strategic thinking toward the conflict and the armistice.
Korean War Legacy ProjectIncludes nearly 1000 Korean War oral histories, over 2900 video clips, and over 1800 photos, documentary on the Korean War; The goal of the Korean War Legacy Project is to assist teachers, students, and the general public in understanding the origins and outcomes of the Korean War, the challenges that soldiers faced while fighting it, and its rich legacy promoting democracy and freedom in the world today, which is exemplified by South Korea’s simultaneous achievement of rapid economic development and substantive democratization in late 20th century.
Korean War Origins, 1945-1950 (Digital Archives by Wilson Center)This collection of primary source documents sheds light on the question of "who started the Korean War?" For more coverage of the Korean War on the Digital Archive, see the collections: Korean War, 1950-1953; Korean War Armistice; China and the Korean War; and Korean War Biological Warfare Allegations.
Korean War RecordsThe Center for the Study of Tennesseans and War in Hoskins Library at the University of Tenessee collects the stories of all the people in Tennessee who have been involved in wars between and the present day. One of the digital archive is Korean War Records in the format of audio, transcript, and documents.
Korean War Veterans of Mount Horeb (University of Wisconsin)The Korean War veterans who contributed to this project are Robert Murray, Wilburt Hefty, Glenn Spaay, Marshall Ruegger, Wayne Syvrud, and Cyril Burns. In addition to the interviews, these men also contributed pictures, papers, and documents collected in Korea.
A welcome addition to the overall collection was local photographer Cyril Burns' color slides and black and white photographs. Many of these beautiful images were taken while he was stationed on White Horse Hill and give a unique perspective into the life of a young Lieutenant in Korea.
Korean War Records (National Archives and Records Administration)Korean War Records such as State-Level Fatal Casualty Lists from the Korean Conflict (1951-57), Records of U.S. Military Casualties, Missing in Action, and Prisoners of War from the Era of the Korean War, Records of Military Agencies Relating to African Americans from the Post-World War I Period to the Korean War, and more Korean War resources provided by the National Archives
Our Military Heritage: Korean WarThe Genealogy Center at the Allen County Public Library provides "Our Military Heritage: Korean War" such as records of individuals, letters, monuments and memorials, photographs and more.
Overseas Materials Related with Korea by the National Library of KoreaSince 2004, the National Library of Korea has collected records related with Korea held by NARA and provided primary materials for research on the situation of modern and contemporary Korean peninsula and its relations with neighbor countries. The documents collected in digital image file in Washington, where the National Archives and Records Administration is located, are included in catalogue DB and full-text DB by applying descriptive standard that fit the feature of the record material and provided to users through NLK website.
Rutgers Oral History Archives: Korean War IndexROHA's digital archive features 1,262 life course oral history interviews and over 32,000 pages of fully text-searchable transcripts. Korean War Index list providing names and accounts of soldiers who served in the Korean War.
The United States Army and the Korean WarThis site provided by the U.S. Army provides resources on the Korean War, serving as a tool to educate Americans of all ages about the historical significance of the Korean War.