Skip to main content

Researching an Individual Works of Art: Starting Your Research

ARTHIST and VMS

Writing Art History Papers

Guides

D’Alleva, Anne.  How to write art history.  London, Laurence King Pub., 2006.  Lilly N380 .D26 2006

Barnet, Sylvan.  A short guide to writing about art. 9th ed.  Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson, 2008.  Lilly N7476 .B37 2008

Pointon, Marcia R.  History of art : a students’ handbook.   4th ed.   New York : Routledge, 1997.  Lilly N380 .P56 1997  

Sayre, Henry M.  Writing about art.  4th ed.  Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Prentice Hall, 2002.  Lilly  N7476 .S29 2002   

Style Examples for Every Format in Art History

Style Manual for Art History (Chicago Manual of Style)

B = bibliography   F = footnote

 

Book

B Weisenfeld, Gennifer S.  Mavo: Japanese Artists and the Avant-Garde, 1905-1931. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2002.

F 1.  Gennifer S. Weisenfeld, Mavo: Japanese Artists and the Avant-Garde, 1905-1931 (Berkeley: University of California Press, 2002), 76.

 

Exhibition Catalog [most often, treat it as a book]

B Schoonmaker, Trevor.  The Record: Contemporary Art and Vinyl. Durham, NC: Nasher Museum of Art at Duke University, 2010.

F 1.  Trevor Schoonmaker, The Record: Contemporary Art and Vinyl (Durham, NC: Nasher Museum of Art at Duke University, 2010), 100-101.

 

Corpus

B Packard, Pamela M. and Paul A. Clement, eds. Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum: The Los Angeles County Museum of Art. Fascicule 1 [USA Fascicule 18]. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1977.

F 1. Pamela M. Packard and Paul A. Clement, eds. Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum: The Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Fascicule 1 [USA Fascicule 18] (Berkeley: University of California Press, 1977), 21, pl. 19, figs. 3-5.

 

Catalogue Raisonné

When citing the whole book in the bibliography

Andy Warhol Prints: A Catalogue Raisonné. New York: Abbeville Press, 1985.

When citing one entry in the notes

F 1. Andy Warhol, “Saint Apollonia 1984,” in Andy Warhol Prints: A Catalogue Raisonné (New York: Abbeville Press, 1985), 192, fig. IIB.330-333.

 

 

Dissertation

B Walker, LaNitra Michele.  “Pictures that Satisfy: Modernist Discourses and the Politics of Race, Gender, and Nation in the Art of Irma Stern (1894--1966).” (PhD diss., Duke University, 2009). Accessed October 12, 2010, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT 3351937).

F 1. LaNitra Michele Walker, “Pictures that Satisfy: Modernist Discourses and the Politics of Race, Gender, and Nation in the Art of Irma Stern (1894--1966)” (PhD diss., Duke University, 2009), accessed October 12, 2010, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT 3351937).

 

Book Review

B Ainsworth, Maryan W.  Review of Gerard David by Hans van Miegroet.  Art Bulletin, 72, no. 4 (December 1990): 649-654. 

F 1. Maryan W. Ainsworth, review of Gerard David by Hans van Miegroet, Art Bulletin, 72, no. 4 (December 1990): 652.

 

Edited Book – two editors

B Stiles, Kristine, and Peter Selz, eds. Theories and Documents of Contemporary Art:  a Sourcebook of Artists' Writings. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1996.

F 1. Kristine Stiles and Peter Selz, eds., Theories and Documents of Contemporary Art : a Sourcebook of Artists’ Writings (Berkeley: University of California Press, 1996), 52.

If quoting a primary source in this book the entry would be:

B Stella, Frank. “The Pratt Lecture, 1960.” In Theories and Documents of Contemporary Art:  a Sourcebook of Artists' Writings, edited by Kristine Stiles and Peter Selz, 113-114. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1996.

F 1. Frank Stella, “The Pratt Lecture, 1960,” in Theories and Documents of Contemporary Art: a Sourcebook of Artists’ Writings, ed. Kristine Stiles and Peter Selz (Berkeley: University of California Press, 1996), 112.

 

Essay in a Collection or Anthology

B Antliff, Mark, and Patricia Leighten.  “Primitive.” In Critical Terms for Art History, ,edited by  Robert Nelson and Richard Schiff, 217-233.  2nd ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2003.

F 1. Mark Antliff and Patricia Leighten, “Primative,” in Critical Terms for Art History, ed. Robert Nelson and Richard Schiff, 2nd ed. (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2003), 225.


 

 

Journal Article – one author

B Dillon, Sheila.  “Figured Pilaster Capitals from Aphrodisias.” American Journal of Archaeology 101  (October 1997): 731-769.

F 1. Sheila Dillon, “Figured Pilaster Capitals from Aphrodisias,” American Journal of Archaeology 101 (October 1997): 744.

 

Journal Article – two authors

B Hargrove, June and Neil McWilliam.  “Introduction. “ Studies in the History of Art 68 (2005): 8-15.

F 1. June Hargrove and Neil McWilliam, “Introduction,” Studies in the History of Art 68 (2005): 9.

 

Newspaper

B Vogel, Carol.  “Duke Gets Gift for Art Museum.” New York Times , November 13,  1998.

F 1. Carol Vogel, “Duke Gets Gift for Art Museum,” New York Times, November 13, 1998, E36.

 

Unpublished Conference/lecture Presentation

B Antonaccio, Carla, Sheila Dillon, Jenifer Neils, and Tyler Jo Smith. “A Celebration of Classical Antiquities: A Conversation on the Collecting of Antiquities at Duke University.” Lecture given at the Nasher Museum of Art, Duke University, Durham, NC, November 17,2011.

F 1. Carla Antonaccio, Sheila Dillon, Jenifer Neils, and Tyler Jo Smith, “A Celebration of Classical Antiquities: A Conversation on the Collecting of Antiquities at Duke University” (lecture, Nasher Museum of Art, Duke University, Durham, NC,  November 17, 2011).

 

Published Conference Proceedings

B Antonaccio, Carla M.  "Lefkandi and Homer." In Homer's World: Fiction, Tradition, Reality edited by Øivind Andersen and Matthew Dickie, 5-28. Papers from the Norwegian Institute at Athens 3. Bergen: The Norwegian Institute at Athens, 1995.

F 1. Carla M. Antonaccio, “Lefkandi and Homer,” in Homer’s World: Fiction, Tradition, Reality, ed. Øivind Andersen and Matthew Dickie, Papers from the Norwegian Institute at Athens 3 (Bergen: The Norwegian Institute at Athens, 1995), 15.

 

Video/DVD/Media

B Powell, Richard J. The Life and Art of William H. Johnson. Wilton, CT: Reading & O’Reilly, 1991. Videocassette (VHS), 25 min.

F 1. Richard J. Powell, The Life and Art of William H. Johnson (Wilton, CT: Reading & O’Reilly, 1991), VHS.

 

Digital Repository

B Haggis, Donald C. “Azoria Project Archive.”  Accessed August 20, 2012, https://cdr.lib.unc.edu/record?id=uuid%3a1add9fbc-f5c4-49a8-848e-96a52e3ade9c

F 1. Donald C. Haggis, “Azoria Project Archive,” accessed August 20, 2012, https://cdr.lib.unc.edu/record?id=uuid%3a1add9fbc-f5c4-49a8-848e-96a52e3ade9c

 

Free Database

B Sorensen, Lee.  “Spencer, John R[ichard].”  Dictionary of Art Historians. Accessed March 11, 2011, www.dictionaryofarthistorians.org/spencerj.htm .

F 1. Lee Sorensen, “Spencer, John R[ichard],” Dictionary of Art Historians, accessed March 11, 2011, www.dictionaryofarthistorians.org/spencerj.htm .

 

Library Database

B Bruzelius, Caroline. “The Construction of Notre Dame in Paris.” The Art Bulletin 60, no. 4 (December 1987): 540-69. Accessed August 17, 2012, http://www.jstor.org/stable/3050998.

F 1. Caroline Bruzelius, “The Construction of Notre Dame in Paris,” The Art Bulletin 60, no. 4 (December 1987): 544, accessed August 17, 2012, http://www.jstor.org/stable/3050998.

  

Prepared by Christine Bachman, August, 2012

Models

Professional art historians very seldom write books about a single work of art, as many art history paper assignments are.  However, the publisher Allen Lane commissioned major art historians to write small books (99 pages) on ever aspect of a single, famous work of art.  The series, Art in Context, is as close as a student can get on how a serious art-history paper might be written. 

Students unsure about how to construct a paper (what questions to ask) would do well to glance at these titles.

Trumbull : the Declaration of Independence
by Jaffe, Irma B. (New York : Viking Press, 1976.)
Lilly Library ND237.T8 J34 1976 

Poussin: The Holy Family on the steps
by Hibbard, Howard, 1928-1984. ([London] Allen Lane [1974, i.e. 1973])
Lilly ND553.P8 H52 1974

Delacroix : The Death of Sardanapalus
by Spector, Jack J. (London : Allen Lane, 1974.)
Lilly ND553.D33 S62 1974

Leonardo: The last supper
by Heydenreich, Ludwig Heinrich, 1903- ([New York, Viking Press, 1974])
Lilly ND623.L55 H49 1974

Van Eyck: the Ghent altarpiece
by Dhanens, Elisabeth. (New York, Viking Press [1973])
Lilly 759.9493 E97ZD

Marcel Duchamp: The Bride stripped bare by her bachelors, even
by Golding, John. ([New York, Viking Press, 1973, c1972])
Lilly N6853.D8 G64 1973

Subject Guide

Lee Sorensen's picture
Lee Sorensen
Contact:
Box 90727
Lilly Library
LSLILLY@duke.edu
919.660.5994
Website