Skip to main content

Researching an Individual Works of Art: Article Indexes

ARTHIST and VMS

Indexes

 

 

Art Journal Databases in order of usefulness/importance
See also, Art History Database List

 

Art and Architecture Complete - the major journal article source for art; 1929-present. A suite of databases including Art Full Text, Art Index Retrospective, Avery Index (architecture), Cinema Gallery (stills from films and movie posters) and Art Museum Image Gallery. 

Artbibliographices Modern - just 19th-21st-century art. Indexes down to essays in exhibition catalogs. Multi-lingual.

 

Humanties Journal Databases

Jstor - limit to "Art History" in area content

Electronic Journals by subject - URegensburg's list of online journals limitable by subject. Just limit to "Art History" and scan titles. Those free (or subscribed to by Duke) offer immediate access.

Other Article Sources Related to Art

 

Auction Catalogs

Blouin Art Sales Index - Best data available through a Duke database on auction sales.

AskArt - Auction information combined with image sources.

 

Newspapers - newspapers are very important for reading exhibition reviews, tracing media coverage of art or artists, popular reception to art and tracing works of art.

NexisUni - newspaper articles from the late 1980s onward (depending on the newspaper).  Separate search for European dailies is also excellent.

America's News - search American newspapers by region of the country or individual newspaper.  Great for seeing how an art show was reviewed in rural America.

Historic Newspapers

Frequently historic newspaper accounts can be primary sources for exhibitions and other reception documentation.  Also good for patronage verification and biographical/obituary accounts.  Both pdf scans of the actual column.

Duke's list of historical newspaper subscribed

Times Digital Archive - the Times (London), 1785-1985

New York Times Digital Index - 1851 until three years ago.

Chicago Defender - Chicago's African American newspaper

Subject Guide

Lee Sorensen's picture
Lee Sorensen
Contact:
Box 90727
Lilly Library
LSLILLY@duke.edu
919.660.5994
Website