LibGuides: French and Francophone Studies: Language Dictionaries

Online Dictionaries French - French

Grand Robert de la langue francaise This link opens in a new window
Search for background information on the French language. Covers the etymology, history, pronunciation, and usage of French words
ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) This link opens in a new window
Search the complete text of the collection Trésor de la Langue Française: nearly 2600 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of drama, non-fiction prose and...

Dictionnaire de l’Académie française: Dictionary of the French language from the French Academy. Contains all editions back to 1694, allowing for comparisons of meaning, spelling and usage over time, and word histories. The 9th (current) edition is still in publication, with three volumes completed to date. Open access.
The Dictionnaire des francophones: Open, collaborative dictionary aiming to include all the words of French to reflect the diversity of usage across the world. Open access.
Le Dictionnaire historique de la Suisse (DHS): Open dictionary of Swiss history. Entries in French, German, and Italian. Open access.
Le Robert dico en ligne: Freely available dictionary from Le Robert offering definitions, synonyms, and verb conjugations. While less comprehensive than Le Grand Robert, it still offers an impressive 165,000 definitions. Open access.
Trésor de la langue française: Historically important 16-volume dictionary of the French language of the 19th and 20th centuries; been digitized and freely available. Provides definitions, history of usage, and etymology. Open access.