French and Francophone Studies

Library Catalogs 

• WorldCat note that there is a subscription version WorldCat, and an open version http://www.worldcat.org/
• Center for Research Libraries
• Library of Congress
• Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog (KVK)​ a simultaneous search of many catalogs, including digital content, used books, and serial research

CCFr (Catalogue Collectif de France) search holdings and addresses of almost 5,000 institutions/libraries; including BNF, Sudoc, and Base Patrimoine; search/ explore institutions by city

SUDOC catalogue du Système Universitaire de Documentation search institutions of higher education and large city libraries; SUDOC is esp. important for dissertations (theses.fr and TEL)

Bibliothèque Nationale de France (BNF) the French National Library, site of legal deposit since 1537

• Accès au catalogue général de la BnF
• Accès à BnF archives et manuscrits
• Accès à reliures.bnf.fr (decorated bindings)
• Accès au catalogue de La Joie par les livres (Centre national de la littérature pour la jeunesse)
• ​Accès à BP16, bibliographie des éditions parisiennes du 16e
• Accès aux catalogues numérisés
• ​Accès au CCFr Accès au CCFr (Catalogue Collectif de France)
• Accès à Mandragore Accès à la base iconographique en ligne du département des Manuscrits.
• Accès au catalogue des médailles et antiques
• Accès au site Presse locale ancienne
• La Bibliographie nationale française the French national bibliography, online starting with 2001; search by Dewey classification in each volume under "Cadre de classement"
• Catalogues imprimés Une partie des collections n'est pas encore recensée dans les catalogues informatisés. Les catalogues qui les répertorient sont consultables sur place.
• More: Aides à la recherche documentaire

Regional portals to libraries and archives in France often include digital materials, but not all libraries are online.

Full-text Digital Libraries - Internet/Free of Charge

• Gallica the digital library of the French National LibraryBibliothèque Nationale de France (BNF) 
• GoogleBooks France
• Europeana a collaboration of European institutions for sharing digital content (note that the European Library stopped service)
• Hathi Trust - a preservation site for digital projects; free search, added functionality for Duke as member institution
• Internet Archive Duke deposits digital objects in Internet Archive
• Duke Space Institutional Repository 
• Wikisource - a community dedicated to collecting and annotating links to digital objects; Gallica is one contributor.

Digital Libraries - Subscription databases through Duke Libraries (many databases deposit a copy of metadata of their content in Duke Allsearch and Duke catalog)

• ARTFL Founded in 1982 as a result of a collaboration between the French government and the University of Chicago, the ARTFL Project is a consortium-based service that provides its members with access to North America's largest collection of digitized French resources.
• Corpus de la littérature francophone d'Afrique full text collection covering the entire French speaking Sub-Saharan Africa, from Benin to Togo, representing about twenty countries and more than a hundred ethnic groups.
• ECCO TCP, Eighteenth Century Collections Online
• EEBO : Early English books online
• EEB Early European Books 
• Electronic Enlightenment offers access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long 18th century.
• Nineteenth century collections online.
• Duke Research Databases by Type: Primary Sources

• Répertoire des ressources documentaires du ministère de la Culture

Dissertations do no consistently show up in Worldcat or other library catalog

• Atelier national de reproduction des thèses provides reproductions for a fee
• Bibliothèque Nationale de France (BNF) (French National Library) see guide on "thèses et écrits académiques"
• Canada: Theses Canada, and AMICUS Canadian National Library Catalog
• Center for Research Libraries acquires dissertations from abroad selectively; CRL can work with Duke Libraries Document Delivery service on obtaining dissertations from abroad
• DART-Europe E-theses Portal
• NDLTD  The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). NDLTD supports electronic publishing and open access to scholarship in order to enhance the sharing of knowledge worldwide. 
• Proquest dissertations and theses global Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997
• SUDOC Système universitaire de documentation catalog of higher ed institutions; includes the portal http://www.theses.fr/ 
• TEL (thèses-EN-ligne) The purpose of TEL (thèses-EN-ligne) is to facilitate the self archiving of thesis manuscripts, which are important documents for direct scientific communication between scientists. TEL is actually a particular "environment" of HAL. It therefore has the same objective: make scientific documents available to scientists all around the world, rapidly and freely, but with a restriction to PHD thesis and habilitations (HDR, in countries where habilitations exist).