The following list of titles that may be of interest to students and scholars of Slavic and East European diasporas in the United States is taken from the online guide to Duke University Library's American Newspaper Repository Collection, housed at the Rubenstein Rare Book and Special Collections Library.
The American Newspaper Repository Collection, 1854-2004, consists of approximately five thousand newspaper volumes (plus several thousand unbound newspapers). In addition to long runs of major domestic newspapers, the collection contains many foreign language and immigrant papers, including those produced by immigrants and ex-patriates from Russia and Eastern Europe. Among these are trade journals, Communist papers, and other political-themed ethnic papers in Polish, Ukrainian, Russian, Yiddish, Belarusian, Armenian, Hungarian, and Lithuanian. Many of these runs apparently exist nowhere else in the original format, which makes this collection into a resource of major scholarly significance.
A number of newspaper titles, including about 20 Slavic-related ones (4 Ukrainian, 3 Albanian, 3 Croatian, 3 Polish, 2 Lithuanian, 2 Yiddish, 1 Hungarian, 1 Romanian, 1 Russian, 1 Slovak) have been separated from the collection and cataloged individually in the library catalog. To locate these titles, search the library catalog for American Newspaper Repository Collection (Duke University) and limit the results by "Language."
There have been two separate additions to the collection: American Newspaper Repository Collection, 1926-1979, comprised of eight newspaper titles, mostly published in New York, N.Y., including Aufbau: Nachrichtenblatt des German-Jewish Club (1940-1973); Sunday Worker (1936-1938); and Weekly People (1958-1979); and American Newspaper Repository Collection, 2005, comprised of electronic files featuring selected comics drawn from the Sunday Chicago Tribute, the New York World, and the New York American (1898, 1900, 1906, 1916).