Skip to Main Content
Digital Libraries of Russian Articles
Slavic-specific article databases
- American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (1985-present)
Includes citations for books, book chapters, book reviews, articles, and dissertations on Slavic, East European, and Eurasian studies published in North America. Covers
- Russian Science Citation Index (2005-present)
Search (in Russian or English) across scholarly articles from researchers publishing in the core Russian science, technology, medical, and education journals, selected and provided by the Scientific Electronic Library (eLIBRARY.RU), Russia's largest research information provider.
- The Current digest of the Soviet and post-Soviet press (1949-present)
Offers a selection of Russian-language press materials, translated into English. .
- Central and Eastern European Online Library provides access to full text PDF articles from humanities and social science journals and re-digitized documents pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern European topics.
- East & Central Europe Database provides access to full-text academic journals published by scholarly organizations and educational institutions in the East and Central Europe region. Subject areas include business, science, technology, engineering, medical, social sciences, education, arts, literature, and history.
Search for articles, reports, theses about Eastern Europe (ex communist countries). It includes works relevant to Eastern European minorities and the emigration in Western European countries. Date: 1991-2007.
- Slavic Humanities Index is a bibliographic database that indexes current scholarly and cultural periodicals in Slavic humanities from all over eastern Europe. 1994-present.
- Database of Russian and CIS Statistical Publications covers Russian and English language publications, reports and data sets from State Committee of the Russian Federation on Statistics and the Interstate Statistical Committee of the Commonwealth of Independent States. Allows searching within reports, tables and graphs, transliteration option, tables of contents in English, etc. Date Coverage: 1995-present.
- Database of Russian Humanities Publications include full-text, in Russian & English, of major humanities journals.
- Database of Central Russian Newspapers -- a full-text database of over 40 newspapers from Russia, including some English-language publications. Visual material like photos, graphs, and drawings are not included. Date Coverage: 1995-present
- Russian National Bibliography allows users to digitally search the Russian Book Chamber's national bibliographies for citations from books, newspapers, journals, dissertation abstracts, musical scores, and maps. Date Coverage: 1994-present. For books published from 1907 to 1979, see Knizhnaia Letopis Digital Archive. For newspapers, see Bibliography of Russian Newspapers.
Subject-specific article databases with Slavic content
- MLA International Bibliography provides citations to research in literature, literary criticism, linguistics, modern languages, drama, folklore, film and video, and other communicative behavior. Covers American, English, French, German, Hungarian, Italian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Yiddish, other European, Asian, African, and Latin American literature and folklore. Date Coverage: 1926-present.
- Literature Criticism Online a compendium of critical essays from classical to contemporary periods, good coverage of "canonical" works.
- PAIS International covers of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, conference papers, and 'grey literature' (eg. research reports produced by think tanks; for the most current reports, consult the websites of the individual think-tanks, such as RAND Corp., Brookings Institution, or CSIS) .
- Historical Abstracts provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages. Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Date Coverage: 1955 - present
General article databases with Slavic content
- Project Muse (current) and JSTOR (historical issues) are two separate, full-text collections of core scholarly journals in all fields, covering the arts and humanities, social science, and mathematics.
- ProQuest Research Library provides access to an extensive collection of journals, newspapers, and magazines. Includes several databases that may be searched together or individually, including Religious Periodicals, Proquest Newspapers and others.Full text articles are available in HTML and/or PDF format. Images are included for many articles. Date Coverage: Indexing: 1971-present; full-text: 1991-present; image: 1987-present.
- IBZ Online -- international and interdisciplinary bibliography that documents academic periodical literature in the humanities and social sciences. Publications from 40 countries in more than 40 languages are taken into consideration. The articles are analyzed for subject content, so you have access to a multiplicity of topics irrespective of the original language of an indexed article. IBZ Online now includes abstracts.