Duke Centennial Resources

Quick reference collections are prepared by Duke University Archives staff to provide brief overviews of popular topics in Duke University's history. You may want to begin your research by studying the materials in these collections as a way of orienting yourself to your research topic.

Below, you'll find a list of our most frequently-consulted reference collections, including links to their collection guides. To see a list of all of our reference collections, click here.

Interested in student life and more? Refer to these libguides for more information on student activism, African-American history, Latinx history, LGBTQ+ history, Asian and Asian American History, Native American history, and more here. 

Collections about Duke University Academic Departments & Schools:

• Departments and Academic Divisions Reference Collection, 1904-ongoing
• Divinity School Reference Collection, 1926-ongoing
• Fuqua School of Business Reference Collection, 1968-ongoing
• Graduate School Reference Collection, 1958-ongoing
• School of Law Reference Collection, 1930-ongoing
• Nicholas School of the Environment Reference Collection, 1930-ongoing
• Duke University Medical Center Reference collection, 1941-ongoing
  • For more information about the medical center, please visit this site. 

  Feel free to search our catalog and collection guides for other departments and schools. 

Information on the arts scene on campus, including key institutions on campus such as the American Dance Festival and the Nasher Museum. 

• American Dance Festival Reference collection, 1977 - 2018 
  • The American Dance Festival Reference Collection includes clippings, announcements, programs, and other materials pertaining to ADF performances and events held on the Duke University campus.
  • For more information about the American Dance Festival, please contact the American Dance Festival Archives at this email: adfarchives@americandancefestival.org. 
• Arts at Duke Reference collection, circa 1910-ongoing
  • The Arts at Duke Reference Collection contains files of clippings, programs, calendars and other materials concerning the arts at Duke and at Trinity College, the University's predecessor.
• Duke University Museum of Art Reference collection, 1932 - 2001
  • The Duke University Museum of Art Reference Collection contains clippings, exhibit catalogs, articles, flyers, and other material about the Duke University Museum of Art and the Nasher Museum of Art at Duke University. 

For information on athletics at Duke, please see below: 

• Athletics Reference collection, 1888-2005
  • Files on often-studied events in Duke athletic history, as well as documentation about individual teams and the athletics administration.
• Sports Information Office Records, 1932-ongoing
  • For more in-depth research needs, check out our Duke University Athletics LibGuide or contact the Duke University Archives staff.

To learn more about the people who have worked and studied here, refer to these collections: 

• Black History at Duke Reference Collection, 1948-ongoing
  • Documentation on African-American students, faculty, and staff, as well as the development of African American Studies and African-American student organizations.
• Biographical Reference Collection, 1972-2004
  • Files of clippings, writings, curricula vitae, bibliographies, and sources of other biographical information on Duke administrators, faculty, and selected students and staff.

• News Service Biographical Files, circa 1930s - 2004 

  • Files of clippings and biographies compiled by the Duke News Service. 

• Firsts Reference Collection, 1906-ongoing
  • ​​​​​​​Documentation about African-American, athletics, academic, alumni, faculty, and women's firsts.
• Notable People - Google Sheets
  • Spreadsheet created by University Archives staff of notable people in Duke history, including firsts.

Want to know about the Blue Devil? The traditions on campus? Why Duke went blue? How about the pens that signed the indenture in 1924? Check out these collections below: 

• Artifacts and Relics collection, 1830s-ongoing
  • Artifacts, memorabilia, pins, awards, textiles, and other materials, either related to or produced by Trinity College and Duke University or collected by Trinity College Historical Society or other offices and individuals as historical curiosities.
• Blue Devil Reference Collection, 1972-ongoing
  • An overview of the development of the Blue Devil, including the history of the selection of the Blue Devil as Duke University's mascot and the evolution of the Blue Devil costume.
• Signs and Symbols Reference Collection, 1972-ongoing
  • A resource for historical information about Duke's major symbols, including Duke blue, the Duke shield, and Duke's motto--everything except the Blue Devil, which has its own reference collection (see above)!
• Subject Files Reference Collection, 1859-ongoing
  • ​​​​​​​A useful source for articles about Duke published in international and national media, as well as documentation about Duke governance and tradition.

For places and spaces on Duke's campus, including general information about the buildings, Chapel, and Duke gardens, refer to these collections below: 

• Building Reference Collection, 1972-2004
  • Documentation on the original construction and architecture, renovation, and uses of Duke University campus buildings and statues. This collection frequently includes dedication and other ceremonial programs and information about the source of each building's name. Blueprints are available in this collection and in the Facilities Management Department Records. 
• Chapel Reference Collection, 1933-ongoing
  • Documentation about Duke's most well-known building, including information about the Chapel's construction and decoration and a comprehensive index of sermons.
• Sarah P. Duke Garden Reference Collection, 1934-ongoing
  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​An overview of the history of one of Duke's most popular features, including annual reports, clippings, and information about the Gardens' design.