Duke Centennial Resources

The photograph collections that Centennial researchers may find most interesting for their work to find people, places, and activities are: 

• University Archives Photograph Collection, 1861-ongoing. These are photographs that are divided into three series (categories): People, Buildings, and Activities. 
• University Archives Photographic Negative Collection, 1855-1995. Negatives.
• Duke Photography, job number records, 1960-2018. Collection is being processed, please reach out to University Archives staff to aid in finding photographs. Contains negatives and contact sheets. 
• Duke Photography Faculty and Staff photographs, circa 1960s-2003

For Athletics:

• Sports Information Office: Photographic Negatives collection, circa 1924-1992, 1995, undated. Negatives.
• Sports Information Office Visual Materials Collection, 1930-ongoing. Collection is being processed, please reach out to University Archives Staff to aid in finding photographs. 

For construction at Duke: 

• Duke University Progress Pictures collection, 1925-1932. These have been digitized here. 

These collections may be requested and reviewed in our reading room, where scanning equipment is available for your use at no charge. Additional fee-based reproduction services are also offered and recommended for reformatting negatives. 

Many of the photographs from these collections have been digitized and made available online as part of our Flickr photostream.

• These may be downloaded directly from Flickr for private research, study, and teaching (with credit given to the "Duke University Archives").
• Please contact us to request permission for other uses of these materials, such as in commercial products or for broadcast or publication.

The University Archives collections listed below are our main sources for audio, film, and video recordings produced by university- and student-run media organizations. Oral histories at Duke University can be found in this libguide. 

• Radio TV Services Records, ca. 1937-1988

• Media Services Audio and Video Records, 1963-ongoing

• WDBS Collection, 1949-1983. Audio recordings of the Allen Building Takeover and Duke Vigil are available here. 

• Cable 13 Videotapes, 1976-1982

These recordings document:

• major campus events, including public lectures and performances and university commencement ceremonies
• selected sports events
• press conferences and interviews with campus administrators and faculty
• promotional pieces

Athletics-Specific Audiovisual Materials:

• Football game film collection, 1934-2007
• Men's Basketball Game Film Collection, 1947-1996

Use copies of these recordings may have to be prepared before they may be viewed or listened to; please contact the Duke University Archives staff to inquire about using these recordings.

To view these materials, they will need to be requested as digital copies. There are instructions available here.