Duke Centennial Resources

Publications produced by Duke University departments and organizations provide contemporary accounts of campus events, and are often a good source for gauging student, faculty, and staff reactions to campus issues. Most publications are not fully indexed, or have indexes that are available only at the Duke University Archives, as indicated below.

The Duke Chronicle (library catalog records)

• Our student newspaper began publishing as the Trinity Chronicle on December 19, 1905.
• Issues of the Duke Chronicle from 1905 to May 2000 have been fully digitized.
• Beginning around 1993, articles are available online at the Duke Chronicle's website. Please note that the online archives of The Duke Chronicle does not reproduce advertisements, including classified ads.

Chanticleer (library catalog record)

• The Chanticleer—our student yearbook—published its first volume in spring 1912 (covering the 1911-1912 academic year).
• Access to digitized copies of the Chanticleer is provided as part of the Duke University Libraries' Internet Archive collection.

DukEngineer (library catalog record)

• DukEngineer, the student-run news magazine for the Pratt School of Engineering, published its first issue in May 1940.
• Issues from 1940 to 2013 have been fully digitized. 
• Issues from 2014 to the present are available on Pratt's website.

The Trinity Archive and The Archive (library catalog record)

• Before The Trinity Chronicle began to publish in December 1905, the school's literary magazine, the Trinity Archive, functioned as a source of campus news and thought. The Archive is still being published, but is now strictly a literary magazine.
• An index to the Trinity Archive (covering November 1887 to May 1932) is available online as part of the Duke University Libraries' Internet Archive collection.
• Access to digitized copies of the Trinity Archive and the Archive is provided as part of the Duke University Libraries' Internet Archive collection. Right now, it's tricky to discern issue dates for these digitized issues. Issues through 1924 can be accessed chronologically through HathiTrust. We're working on a better way to access later issues by date. Later issues (1925-1999) are available but are only searchable. 

The Duke Alumni Register (library catalog record)

• Published by Trinity College's—and later Duke University's—Alumni Association starting in April 1915, the Alumni Register contains articles on campus milestones, events, trends, and people, as well as alumni updates.
• Subject and name indexes are available as card files in the Duke University Archives. Please contact University Archives staff for assistance.
• Access to digitized copies of the Alumni Register (1915-1975) is provided through HathiTrust.

Duke Magazine (library catalog record)

• The successor to the Alumni Register, Duke Magazine began to publish in 1984.
• Access to digitized copies of Duke Magazine from 1984-2007 is available through HathiTrust. (Click on "Catalog Record" to see a list of digitized issues organized chronologically.)
• Access the full text of Duke Magazine articles on Duke Magazine's website. 

Try searching the Libraries' catalog with the subject heading "Duke University -- Periodicals" or "Duke University -- Students -- Periodicals" to locate additional Duke publications. 

For publications about Duke administration, refer to these reference collections below: 

• University Policies Reference Collection, 1933-ongoing
  • Documentation on the evolution of selected Duke policies, including drugs and alcohol, sexual harassment, protests and demonstrations, and bonfires.
• University Reports Reference Collection, 1959-ongoing
  • A collection of major reports on Duke's accreditation, strategic planning, schools and divisions, campus planning, student life, and curriculum.
• DukeSpace: You can filter by type on the right side of the page. You can search and filter the site for specific report authors and by department.

This is not an all-exhaustive list of student publications, but provides a starting point. 

• Undergraduate Publications Board Reference Collection: Includes a list of publications and a general history of the board. 
• The Blue Devil's Advocate: A guide to Duke and the Triangle (1988-2015, some missing issues
• Jabberwocky: comedy magazine (ca. 1980s)
• PEER: Duke's comedy magazine (1953-1969)
• The Duke Guide: covers life on Duke's campus, including information about student organizations
• Tobacco Road: a magazine that was later published as a weekly supplement of the Chronicle (1978-1983)
• Vertices: Duke's science, technology, and medicine magazine