Art History Journal Indexes
Humanties Journal Databases
Kubikat - Book & article catalog of four German art-history libraries, covering all languages and with an English interface) Kunsthistorisches Institut (Florence) Zentralinstitut für Kunstgeschichte (Munich). Deutsches Forum für Kunstgeschichte (Paris) and the Bibliotheca Hertziana (Rome).
Arts & Humanities Citation Index - (Web of Knowledge) - look up scholarship by whom was cited in the artitcle.
Electronic Journals by subject - URegensburg's list of online journals limitable by subject. Just limit to "Art History" and scan titles. Those free (or subscribed to by Duke) offer immediate access.
Google Scholar - explanation - full text index of scholarly literature across a wide variety disciplines. Text, however, is limited because of copyright, consulting the library copy may be necessary.
Google Books - explanation - full text index of books and magazines scanned by Google, converted to text using optical character recognition. Like above, full-text examination is limited.
Current - exhibition reviews, tracing media coverage of art or artists, popular reception to art and tracing works of art.
Nexis Uni - (formerly Nexis/Lexis) newspaper articles from the late 1980s onward (depending on the newspaper). Separate search for European dailies is also excellent.
Access News (formerly America's News, formerly America's Newspapers) - search American "second tier" newspapers by region of the country or individual newspaper. Great for minor figure obituaries, news of scholars, etc. in rural America.
Historic - newspaper accounts can be primary sources for exhibitions, reception documentation, museum collection history, etc. Also good for patronage verification and biographical/obituary accounts. Both pdf scans of the actual column.
Times Digital Archive - the Times (London), 1785-1985
New York Times Digital Index - 1851 until three years ago.
Asia
Bibliography of Asian Studies - Articles in Western languages regarding aspects of Asian and South Asian studies, including art history and popular culture.
Auction Catalogs
Art Sales Index - Coming soon! refers to auction catalog number
Scipio - Worldcat records of individual auction catalogs. Great for verification of auction or interlibrary loan use. It does not contain auction prices for individual works of art.
Medieval
ITER - Indexes journals covering European Renaissance (1300-1700) and medieval eras (400-1500).
