LibGuides: Business Research: Literature & Data

Key E-Journals

Scholarly

Journal of Marketing (online 1936-)
Academy of Management Review (online 1976-present)
Marketing Science (online 1982-present)
Academy of Management Journal (online 1958-present)
Strategic Management Journal (online 1980-present)

Popular

The Wall Street Journal. Eastern Edition. (1984-present)
The Wall Street Journal (1923-2000)
The Wall Street Journal (1889-1922)
Harvard Business Review (1922-present)
Business Week (online 1995-); now Bloomberg BusinessWeek
Forbes (online 1990-)
Fortune (online 1992-)

Bibliographies

Strauss's Handbook of Business Information, Rita W. Moss, Libraries Unlimited, 2012.
Perkins/Bostock Reference Desk HF1010 .S7796 2012

Overview to publications (print and electronic) relevant to the field of business.
International Bibliography of Business History, Francis Goodall, ed., Routledge, 1997.
Perkins/Bostock Reference HF1008 .G663 1997

For historical research, this provides descriptions of 4400 resources, organized largely by the type of business or trade (coal mining, petrochemicals, wine & spirits, railways, etc.). Limited online access via the Internet Archive.

Key Literature Indexes

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Business and economic literature index, including many trade publications as well as academic literature. From ProQuest.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business and economic literature index, including many trade publications as well as academic literature. From EBSCO.
Political Risk Yearbooks provide probability forecasts for political, social and economic trends for 100 countries, and are included in Business Source Complete since 2003. In the "Publication" field in the Advanced Search, search for Political Risk Yearbook and the name of the country.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Includes many trade publications and wire services related to business and company news.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Search for global news and information content, including Dow Jones, Reuters Newswires, and The Wall Street Journal. Text & data mining prohibited by license. See the "more" link for details.
Text and data mining (TDM) of Factiva content is prohibited by license. TDM includes mass downloading of content via scripts (aka scraping) *and* via Factiva's internal tools for downloading content. Please use ProQuest's TDM Studio for text mining.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Set preferences (icon in upper right) to Duke University Libraries if you're off campus
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text online of all issues of important core journals (with a 3-5 year lag) back to 19th century, including many in business, finance, economics, and statistics.

Recommended Databases for Business
Short list of databases that index literature, provide full text reports, or provide statistical data.
Ford Library Databases by Subject (long list)
Long list of business databases grouped into categories.

Historical Article Indexes

Historic Print Indexes:

Business Periodicals Index (1958-1993) LSC; 1969-93 also in Perkins/Bostock Stacks HF1 .B8756
Industrial Arts Index (1913-1957) LSC; predecessor of Business Periodicals Index

Key Data Sources

S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
S&P Global NetAdvantage is a subset of content available within S&P Capital IQ. It includes S&P Industry Surveys, equity & industry research, mutual fund information, executive and director listings, and CFRA Outlook - a weekly stock and industry newsletter.
A database covering a broad spectrum of industry, company and investment analysis including Industry Surveys, and Equity Research (formerly Stock Reports). Industry data sets include key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, financial metrics, etc. by sub-industry or geography (see Markets tab). Archived Industry Surveys included as far back as 1999 depending upon title continuity. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private and public companies.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Develop interactive thematic maps and reports using more than 100,000 demographic, business, and marketing data variables.
Includes data from the US Census, the American Community Survey (ACS), the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), D&B's Points-of-Interest business directory, and MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Search for downloadable statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries
Global Financial Data This link opens in a new window
Find data on long time series of stock and bond indices and macroeconomic data
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. SEC Filings & forms (EDGAR) This link opens in a new window
Search for electronic filings from 1994 to the Securities and Exchange Commission that are available to the public. This is an open access database.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) This link opens in a new window
WRDS is a data portal providing access to more than 50 datasets from various providers covering finance, accounting, economics, management, marketing, banking, insurance, and more.
LSEG Workspace This link opens in a new window
LSEG Workspace contains market data, company financials and filings, earnings estimates, transaction data, analyst research, and more. LSEG Workspace replaces Thomson ONE and provides access to similar content.
Ford Library's Database Terms of Use apply to LSEG Workspace. You may retain data downloaded from LSEG Workspace for only as long as: 1) you are enrolled or employed at Duke; and 2) only as long as Duke maintains an active subscription to the product. Students may lose access at the end of the academic year in May.

DataStream Advance
The DataStream (aka DataStream Advance or DS Advance) client software from Refinitiv (fka Thomson Reuters) has been retired by the provider. Duke users may now access DataStream data via WRDS, or via the Refinitiv Workspace web site and application, available in mid-late February 2022.
Bloomberg Professional
Available in person in the Data and Visualization Services computer lab (Bostock first floor: The Edge) or at the Ford Business Library.

Business Research: Literature & Data

Key E-Journals

Bibliographies

Key Literature Indexes

Historical Article Indexes

Key Data Sources

Contact Us

Services for...