LibGuides: Business Research: Entrepreneurship

News

Bloomberg Small Business
From Bloomberg News.
How I Built This (NPR Radio Show)
Podcasts of a radio show hosted by Guy Raz, featuring inspiring interviews with innovators and entrepreneurs.

Social Entrepreneurship

Duke's Center for the Advancement of Social Entrepreneurship (CASE) - Knowledge Center
Provides general resources, income strategies, venture funding information, performance measurement and business planning.
Skoll Foundation
"Drives large-scale change by investing in, connecting, and celebrating social entrepreneurs and the innovators who help them solve the world’s most pressing problems."
Lemelson Foundation
"Inspires and enables the next generation of inventors and invention-based enterprises to promote economic growth in the US, and social and economic progress for the poor in developing countries."
BBC People Fixing the World
Food for thought: these podcasts involve out-of-the-box solutions to pressing world problems. Formerly called "World Hacks."
Social Enterprise and Social Entrepreneurship
From the Free Management Library.

Research and Data

Entrepreneurship Database This link opens in a new window
Search for reports, articles, and video clips related to business and entrepreneurship
Entrepreneurial Studies Source This link opens in a new window
Search for articles related to entrepreneurship and small business
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Search for industry market research reports and industry risk ratings on U.S. industries
Reports focus on industry performance, outlook, products & markets, competitive landscape, major companies, operating conditions, and key statistics. Duke's subscribed content includes: Core NAICS US Industry Market Research Reports, iExpert Summary Reports, US Specialized Super Niche Industry Reports (Current & Future), and China Industry Reports.
Passport This link opens in a new window
A source of demographic, economic, and marketing statistics and research reports for over 200 countries. Provides volume and value market size data for 330 consumer products across 49 countries.
Duke also has access to the following supplementary modules on Passport: Sustainability (new), Industrial, Product Claims & Positioning, Sports, Cannabis & Economies & Consumers.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles, trade journals and market research reports with business and economic information
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for articles on management, finance, economics, industry, accounting, and international business from popular business magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications. Includes Political Risk Yearbooks.
Political Risk Yearbooks provide probability forecasts for political, social and economic trends for 100 countries, and are included in Business Source Complete since 2003. In the "Publication" field in the Advanced Search, search for Political Risk Yearbook and the name of the country.

Business Formation Statistics (BFS)
From the US Census Bureau, the BFS provide timely and high frequency information on new business applications and formations in the United States.
Anuual Survey of Entrepreneurs
From the US Census Bureau, providing data on economic and demographic characteristics of businesses and their owners.
Business Management Research
PDF research reports from the Conference Board on general topics related to business, economics and markets including: Boards of Directors, Branding, Compensation, Executives, Supply Chain Management
Small Business Administration
US government agency.
STAT-USA
Access to government-sponsored business, economic, and trade information, sponsored by the University of Central Florida.

Business Plans

U.S. Small Business Administration: Business Guide
Information on how to plan, launch, manage, and grow your small business.
Business Plans Index
From the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh.
Bplans.com
Includes sample business plans and advice on how to write your own business plan.
Deloitte & Touche's free business plan paper "Writing an Effective Business Plan"
Dates from 2003, but still provides thorough guidance.
11 Business Plan Templates
Overview of business plans from SimplifyLLC, including several templates and examples.
Writing an Excellent Business Plan
From Finimpact.com, provides guidance on creating a business plan, with links to some templates.
Business Plans Handbook
Composed of actual business plans written by entrepreneurs in North America seeking financing for their businesses.
Statista's Business Plan Expert
The "Business Plan Expert" section of the Statista Database helps you gather economic, marketing, and cost data to help build a business plan.

Business Research: Entrepreneurship

Duke and Duke Library

News

Social Entrepreneurship

Research and Data

Business Plans

Contact Us

Services for...