Skip to Main Content

Digital Materials at the University Archives

Internet Archive (digitized Duke publications)

Nearly 700 Duke publications and other printed items from Duke University Archives are available through our collection on the Internet Archive. The collection can be browsed as well as keyword searched (see example below). The collection includes campus publications mentioned elsewhere in this guide—like the annual volumes of The Chanticleer and the annual course bulletins—and offers a good way to search across different publications.

The search bar appears on the left side of the page. Make sure to select the "Text contents" option so that you search the full-text of the publications.

Screencap of the Internet Archive with search box

DukeSpace

DukeSpace, Duke's institutional repository, contains digital Duke research products, like dissertations, as well as other campus documents from University Archives.

Please note that DukeSpace only includes more recent dissertations, theses, and other student research projects (mostly those completed since 2007). The University Archives often has physical copies of older publications; you can search the Duke Libraries catalog or contact us for assistance.

The list below includes some of the more frequently requested materials in DukeSpace, but the repository also contains other material that might be useful.

University Archives Web Archive Collection

The University Archives Web Archive Collection was compiled by University Archives staff beginning in 2010. The collection consists of Duke University-affiliated sites, either built on domains owned by the University or on external platforms by affiliated offices, departments, or organizations. Archived websites include those of administrative offices, academic departments, athletic teams, public relations offices, publications, and student organizations. Also included are some websites related to individual faculty, controversies involving Duke community members, and web content related to student activism.

As an example, clicking on the link for the Muslim Students Association's website archive in the collection guide above will take you to a page that looks like this:

A screen capture of links to archived copies of the Muslim Student Association's website dating from 2013 to 2020.

Clicking on one of the date links will show you the Muslim Students Association's website as it was on that particular date. We'll continue to add more recent versions of all of the websites we're actively archiving on at least a yearly basis.

Duke Digital Repository

Duke's Digital Repositories makes available digitized materials from the University Archives' collections including archival material, video and sound recordings, photographs, and more. The site also provides access to some "born-digital" archival material.

The collections found in the Digital Repositories are also mentioned on the TOPIC and FORMAT pages of this guide, but this website provides a way to search across all of these collections at once.

Homepage of the Digital Repositories at Duke