These materials are available for use in research, study, and teaching. You may reproduce materials without further permission from the University Archives, provided that you cite "Duke University Archives" in your work.
For other uses of these materials—such as in commercial products or for broadcast or publication—please complete this online form to request permission in advance.
Published annually starting in 1849, these catalogs provide information on courses and curricula offered, the college's facilities, and application procedures for prospective students. Rosters of trustees, faculty and staff, and students (including their class year and hometown) are also included.
Duke's student-run newspaper. Issues from December 19, 1905 (the first issue!) through May 2000 are digitized and searchable. Visit the Chronicle's own website (www.dukechronicle.com) for access to the text of articles from 1994-present.
DukEngineer, the student-run news magazine for the Pratt School of Engineering, published its first issue in May 1940. Issues from 1940 to 2013 have been fully digitized and are available at this link. Issues from 2014 to the present are available on Pratt's website (https://pratt.duke.edu/about/news/dukengineer).
This magazine of Libraries news and features began publishing biannually in 1987. More recent issues--dating back to Spring/Summer 2007--are available on the magazine's website (https://blogs.library.duke.edu/magazine/).
News about the Duke University Library, which began (roughly) quarterly publication in 1953. A great source for library statistics and staff news! It was replaced in 1987 by the Duke University Libraries magazine.
A journal and newsletter for Friends of the Duke University Library. Once the Duke Libraries Newsletters began to publish in 1953, Library Notes focused more on longer-form articles about the Libraries' collections, many written by Duke faculty members.
Duke's freshman class directory, which is produced annually by the Duke University Alumni Association. The annual volumes available online date back to the Class of 1970. This link will take you to HathiTrust short catalog records for the directories; click "Catalog Record" to access a list of the digitized issues.
This journal, published from 1897 to 1956, gathers the best historical research papers prepared by the student and faculty members of the Trinity College Historical Society, which was founded in 1892. North Carolina history figures heavily.
Founded in 1902, the still-publishing South Atlantic Quarterly was intended to be a scholarly journal giving attention to the culture and intellectual life of the South. Issues dating from 1904 to 1921 are available online here.
Trinity College's — and later Duke University's — literary and cultural journal, which began publication in 1887. Now known as The Archive, it is one of the oldest continuously-published literary magazines in the United States and the oldest student publication at Duke University. This link will take you to HathiTrust short catalog records for the Trinity Archive (1887-1925) and the Archive (1925-1999); click "Catalog Record" to access a list of the digitized issues.
It's Not in the Catalog (1937-1939), It's Not in the Handbook (1948-1954), and Design for a Duchess (1954-1962)—published annually by the Social Standards Committee of the Woman's Student Government Association—set behavioral and dress expectations for Duke women.
Our Flickr site, home to over 3,000 (and growing!) digitized photos and other visual materials from our collections. The photos are keyword searchable and also organized into topical sets called "albums."
A growing selection of coaching films from Duke football games. A full listing of football films available (but undigitized) in the University Archives' collections can be found at https://archives.lib.duke.edu/catalog/uafootballfilms
A growing selection of coaching films from Duke men's basketball games. A full listing of men's basketball films available (but undigitized) in the University Archives' collections can be found at https://archives.lib.duke.edu/catalog/uamensbballfilms
Audio recordings (with transcripts) of the events of the Silent Vigil and the Allen Building Takeover broadcast on WDBS, Duke's student radio station. Additional recordings of the Vigil made by a student closely involved in the protest are also included.