LibGuides: Digital Materials at Duke University Archives: Publications, Photographs, Audio/Video, and Maps

Guidelines for Use

These materials are available for use in research, study, and teaching. You may reproduce materials without further permission from the University Archives, provided that you cite "Duke University Archives" in your work. See our Citing Primary Sources guide for more info.

For other uses of these materials—such as in commercial products or for broadcast or publication—please complete this online form to request permission in advance.

Contact the Duke University Archives

Duke University Archives

at the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library

Visit our website!

Looking for digitized or born-digital Duke University Archives materials that you can browse or search through online? This guide will help you locate, understand, and work with our digital materials. Keep scrolling to view a full list of online resources.

University and Student Publications

Annual Course Bulletins
Published annually starting in 1849, these catalogs provide information on courses and curricula offered, the college's facilities, and application procedures for prospective students. Rosters of trustees, faculty and staff, and students (including their class year and hometown) are also included.
The Chanticleer
Duke's student-run yearbook. Volumes from 1912 (the first!) to 2017 have been digitized.
The Duke Chronicle
Duke's student-run newspaper. Issues from December 19, 1905 (the first issue!) through May 2000 are digitized and searchable. Visit the Chronicle's own website (www.dukechronicle.com) for access to the text of articles from 1994-present.
DukEngineer
DukEngineer, the student-run news magazine for the Pratt School of Engineering, published its first issue in May 1940. Issues from 1940 to 2013 have been fully digitized and are available at this link. Issues from 2014 to the present are available on Pratt's website (https://pratt.duke.edu/about/news/dukengineer).
Duke University Calendar
A weekly calendar of activities at Duke University, published from Fall 1930 through Spring 1981.
Duke University Directory of Buildings and Landscapes
Compiled by the Facilities Management Department, this volume contains photos and quick facts—including date completed, size, and architect—for Duke's buildings and outdoor spaces.
Duke University Libraries
This magazine of Libraries news and features began publishing biannually in 1987. More recent issues--dating back to Spring/Summer 2007--are available on the magazine's website (https://blogs.library.duke.edu/magazine/).
Duke University Library Newsletter
News about the Duke University Library, which began (roughly) quarterly publication in 1953. A great source for library statistics and staff news! It was replaced in 1987 by the Duke University Libraries magazine.
First-Year Class Directory (Pic Book)
Duke's freshman class directory, which is produced annually by the Duke University Alumni Association. The annual volumes available online date back to the Class of 1970. This link will take you to HathiTrust short catalog records for the directories; click "Catalog Record" to access a list of the digitized issues.
The Front Line: Materials for a Study of Leadership in College and After
Compiled by a campus administrator, The Front Line is a key resource for learning about student organizations through 1942. The volume includes brief histories or descriptions of student groups and (for more prominent groups) rosters of each group's leaders.
Historical Papers of the Trinity College Historical Society
This journal, published from 1897 to 1956, gathers the best historical research papers prepared by the student and faculty members of the Trinity College Historical Society, which was founded in 1892. North Carolina history figures heavily.
Legacy, 1963-1993: Thirty Years of African-American Students at Duke University
Published to commemorate the 30th anniversary of the desegregation of Duke's undergraduate colleges, this volume includes profiles of early African-American faculty, staff, and students; a timeline of Duke's Black history; and lists of Black Duke graduates.
Library Notes
A journal and newsletter for Friends of the Duke University Library. Once the Duke Libraries Newsletters began to publish in 1953, Library Notes focused more on longer-form articles about the Libraries' collections, many written by Duke faculty members.
Religious Life
A handbook for students about Duke's religious organizations and activities, published at the beginning of each academic year between 1954/55 and 1964/65.
Selected Campus Publications and Reports
Duke University Archives staff have digitized key reports, studies, and other publications released publicly by Duke's administration offices. The reports cover topics related to campus climate, organization, governance, and finances.
The South Atlantic Quarterly
Founded in 1902, the still-publishing South Atlantic Quarterly was intended to be a scholarly journal giving attention to the culture and intellectual life of the South. Issues dating from 1904 to 1921 are available online here.
Stones, Bricks, and Faces: A Walking Guide to Duke University
This 1976 guide by Marguerite E. Schumann provides architectural information and curious historical facts (some perhaps not thoroughly substantiated) about campus buildings, statues, and landscapes.
Trinity/Duke Alumni Register and Duke Magazine
Duke's magazine for alumni. The Trinity Alumni Register began publishing in 1915. The publication was renamed Duke Magazine in 1984.
The Trinity Archive and The Archive
Trinity College's — and later Duke University's — literary and cultural journal, which began publication in 1887. Now known as The Archive, it is one of the oldest continuously-published literary magazines in the United States and the oldest student publication at Duke University.
The University Experience
An unofficial guide to Duke student life, published annually by the YM-YWCA between 1968-1978. A great source for information on progressive activism on Duke's campus.
Woman's College Handbooks
It's Not in the Catalog (1937-1939), It's Not in the Handbook (1948-1954), and Design for a Duchess (1954-1962)—published annually by the Social Standards Committee of the Woman's Student Government Association—set behavioral and dress expectations for Duke women.

Photographs and Other Visual Materials

Duke Yearlook
Our Flickr site, home to over 3,000 (and growing!) digitized photos and other visual materials from our collections. The photos are keyword searchable and also organized into topical sets called "albums."
Duke University Construction Progress Photographs, 1925-1932
A series of just over 600 photographs documenting the construction of Duke University’s East and West Campuses between 1925 and 1932.
Sports Information Office: Photographic Negatives Collection
Over 1600 digitized negatives of Duke athletes, coaches, teams, and athletic events dating from the 1920s-1940s. Includes football, basketball, golf, track, boxing, swimming, tennis, wrestling, lacrosse, and soccer.
Men's Basketball Poster Collection
The Men's Basketball Poster Collection is comprised of posters featuring the Duke Blue Devils Men's Basketball Team dating between 1980 and 2002. These posters typically depict the entire team posing for a photograph, sometimes with the team coach. Twenty-one of the posters have been digitized.
Football Game Program Covers
Over 400 colorful covers--including both illustration and photography--from home and away Duke football games, dating from 1923 to 2000. These covers depict the growth of the football program, how the game is viewed, as well as the evolution of the Blue Devil mascot.
Elizabeth Hatcher Conner Collection 1933-1945
Elizabeth Hatcher, Duke University class of 1939, was a photographer and member of the Explorers' Club, along with her future husband Bob Conner. The collection includes many photographs, a scrapbook, letters, and other materials documenting campus life at Duke in the late 1930s.
Duke Chapel Illuminated Photographs
The book Duke Chapel Illuminated, consisting of numerous photographs of the Chapel, was published in 2001. The collection includes photographs taken for the creation of the book, especially of the stained glass windows, statues, and carvings in the Chapel.

Audio and Video Recordings

Duke Chapel Sermons
Over 3,500 items! Audio, video, and manuscript sermons preached at Duke University Chapel between 1946 and 2002.
Football Game Film Collection
A growing selection of coaching films from Duke football games. A full listing of football films available (but undigitized) in the University Archives' collections can be found at https://archives.lib.duke.edu/catalog/uafootballfilms
Men's Basketball Game Film Collection
A growing selection of coaching films from Duke men's basketball games. A full listing of men's basketball films available (but undigitized) in the University Archives' collections can be found at https://archives.lib.duke.edu/catalog/uamensbballfilms
Quest Without End
A 1957 promotional video made by Duke that presents academic life, research, extracurricular activities, religious life and athletics on campus.
Silent Vigil and Allen Building Takeover Audio Recordings
Audio recordings (with transcripts) of the events of the Silent Vigil (1968) and the Allen Building Takeover (1969) broadcast on WDBS, Duke's student radio station. Additional recordings of the Vigil made by a student closely involved in the protest are also included.
This is Duke University
A 1954 promotional video made by Duke.

Maps

Duke University Property Plats, 1925-26
Survey plats of Duke University properties drawn between 1925-1926 in preparation for construction on East and West Campus.
Sanborn Maps of Durham County from Library of Congress
Fire insurance maps published by the Sanborn Map Company featuring detailed street-level information about Durham from 1884 to 1937.
Duke and Durham Maps on Digital Durham
Maps of Durham, including the areas where Duke campus is located, from the 1880s through the late 1990s.
Durham Maps on NC Maps
Maps of Durham from 1880s through the 20th century held by UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries and the State Archives of North Carolina.