Key Databases
- American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies -- citations for studies published in North America from 1990 to the present; coverage back to 1956 available in hard copy in Perkins Reference.
- Eastview Databases -- unified search engine for several databases: Russian Central Newspapers, Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press, Social Sciences & Humanities publications, including full-runs of Pravda, Voprosy istorii, and Voprosy literatury.
- Database of Russian and CIS Statistical Publications -- covers Russian and English language reports and data sets from State Committee of the Russian Federation on Statistics and the Interstate Statistical Committee of the Commonwealth of Independent States.
- ISI Emerging markets -- company directory information, financial data, and news from the world's emerging markets, including countries of former eastern Europe.
Key Reference Works
- The Cambridge Companion to Modern Russian Culture
- Encyclopedia of Russian and Slavic Myth and Legend
- The Cambridge History of Russian Literature
- The Cambridge History of Early Inner Asia
- The Cambridge History of Russia
- The Former Soviet Union's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook
- Eastern Europe: An Introduction to the People, Lands, and Culture
- The Blackwell Dictionary of Eastern Christianity
- Central Asia: A Global Studies Handbook
- World Biographical Information System
- Digital Library of Russian Literature and Folklore
- Kodeks: Russian Law Database
Key Journals
- Electronic Journals Library -- the "Slaovnic journals section" of this University Regensburg Library guide offers a quick way to see what journals are online; which ones are free; and which ones are only accessible via a Duke Library subcription. For pay-per-view titles, searchthe Duke online catalog.
- Журнальный зал -- an online "periodicals reading room," with freely accessible issues of recent Russian-language periodicals, such as Novoe literaturnoe obozrenie; Duke has a subscription to many of these titles via Eastview's Databases of Social Science and Humanities Publications.
- JSTOR Slavic Studies -- gives Duke subscribers full access to the electronic backfiles of several leading English-language journals, such as Slavic Review and Russian Review. For current issues, search the Duke online catalog.
- Central and East European Online Library -- digital archive that provides access to full text PDF articles from humanities and social science journals on Central, Eastern and South-Eastern European topics.
Online Tutorials
Launch a short tutorial to learn more about...
- Choosing the right database to begin researching your topic (2 min.)
- Using the "get it at Duke" button to find full-text articles (2 min.)
- Requesting books that are checked out (1 min.)
- Requesting books from the Library Service Center (1 min.)
- Creating a Document Delivery account (2 min.)
- Placing requests through Document Delivery Services (3 min.)
- Creating an account and logging in to RefWorks (2 min.)
- Subscribing to RSS feeds in the library catalog (2 min.)
- Saving bookmarks and permalinks in the library catalog (>2 min.)
- Reserving Lockers & Carrels in the library
- Finding Copiers and Copy Cards in the library
- Taking a virtual tour of Duke University's Perkins Library (>5 min)
Your Librarian |
Contact Info 230 Bostock/Perkins Library Box 90195 Duke University Durham NC 27708-0195 Phone: 919-660-5847 Fax: 919-668-3134 Send Email |







Loading...
