This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Dance Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Dance Resources   Tags: courseguidespring12, dance, post modernism, postmodernism  

Last Updated: Feb 24, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/dance Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Beginnings - Reference Sources

Electronic

International Encyclopedia of Dance - Scholarly encyclopedia of just dance topics.  Any word typed into this db will be related to dance. Also in hard copy.

Oxford Reference [Sources] Premiere - Performance - collection of scholarly online reference sources on the performing arts, included the IED, above.

Duke Libraries' subject datbase page for DANCE resources - a group of reference sources and databases potentially covering dance

Encyclopedia of Esthetics - scholarly resource for the conceptual side of the arts, excellent for dance backgrounds & theory. This link places you in the Oxford Art Online database, simply select "Encyclopedia of Esthetics".

Books

International Dictionary of Modern Dance.  Lilly Reference GV1585.B46 1998

International Encyclopeda of Dance (hardcopy)

 

Specialized Reference

Biographies

Biography Index - Contains more than one million thumbnail biographies from scholarly sources.

Biography and Geneology Master Index - Indexes readily-available biographical reference sources, people from all places, times and occupations.  NO DIRECT INFO HERE (a 2-step source to hard-copy sources).

Music

Grove Encyclopedia of Music - scholarly encyclopedia of music and musicians.  Includes world music and dances

Dance Librarian

Profile Image
Lee Sorensen
Contact Info
email: LSLILLY@duke.edu
104 Lilly Library
Box 90727
919 660-5994
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip