Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dance: Finding articles

WELCOME - Dance 101 (Shah) students

Secret Weapon

An incredible amount of scholarly, easily-accessed information can be found in dissertations.  Use them to find:

  • a comprehensive bibliography on your topic
  • a discussion of the research problem, and ongoing needs (the "Introduction")
  • chapters treating your topic (table of contents--particularly detailed in dissertations)

1. Dissertations full text (PQDT) - ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global - except for a handful of schools and old thesis, essentially all full-text dissertations from North American universities.  British dissteratons are now also represented.

2. British dissertations (EThOS) - British Library's service of UK dissertations.  Not as comprehensive as PQDT, but worth searching.

Journals at Duke

It's best to use larger index databases that may not deliver full-text, but give broader coverage.  Most journal databases will give you the option to use the "Get it at Duke" button to locate the hardcopy.

More than half of all art journals are not full text.  Image copyright often prevents previously-published articles from broader, web distribution.  Searching journal titles in the online (Duke) catalog will A) link you to full-text versions or B) tell you where the hard copy runs are (usually Lilly).

Interlibrary Loan

Articles

Found an article? Click on Get it @ Duke to locate the full-text for items you find in the databases. A box will pop up and tell you if the item is available online or in print.

Need help using Get it @ Duke? Check out this short tutorial (2 min).

Not available through Duke? Request it from another library using Document Delivery.

Books

If a book in the catalog is listed as "Available," go to the library it is listed under to pick it up. Where is the book? Check out this guide for books in Perkins/Bostock library. Check this guide for books/DVDs, etc. in Lilly library.

Book checked out or at the Library Service Center(LSC)? Request it by clicking on "Get this title" and then clicking "request" under "Get it at Duke."

For more information on requesting materials check this out.

Subject Guide

Lee Sorensen's picture
Lee Sorensen
Contact:
Box 90727
Lilly Library
LSLILLY@duke.edu
919.660.5994
Website