Dance journal databases are specialized - they're by authorities ("peer reviewed") and have special ways to get at art topics.
Magazine Indexes
Performing Arts Database (formerly IIPA) Find dance reviews + criticism, as well as academic journal articles
Gender Watch - focuses more on contemporary gender issues, however strong on contemporary view of traditional gender issues in Dance.
Or Just Browse! - list of online dance periodicals at Duke
ProQuest Central: Includes academic journals, magazine and newspaper articles
Academic OneFile: Search across magazine, journals, and books on your topic
Jstor: Search for academic journal articles on your topics
MLA International Bibliography - massive language-interests db, includes dance topics when related to theater
Current - exhibition reviews, tracing media coverage of art or artists, popular reception to art and tracing works of art.
Nexis Uni - (formerly Nexis/Lexis) newspaper articles from the late 1980s onward (depending on the newspaper). Separate search for European dailies is also excellent.
Access World News - (formerly America's Newspapers) - search American newspapers by region of the country or individual newspaper. Great for seeing how an art show was reviewed in rural America.
Historic - newspaper accounts can be primary sources for exhibitions, reception documentation, museum collection history, etc. Also good for patronage verification and biographical/obituary accounts. Both pdf scans of the actual column.
Times Digital Archive: the Times (London), 1785-1985
New York Times Digital Index - 1851 until three years ago.
