LibGuides: Parish and Denominational Studies (Divinity): Methodist

Databases

ATLA Religion Database
Indexes journals and book essays in religion and theology. Suggested search terms include "Methodism" and "Methodist church"
British Online Archives
Contains digitized copies of archives held in Britain including missionary records and a full run of the Arminian Magazine/Methodist Magazine/Wesleyan-Methodist Magazine (1778-1913).
Eighteenth century collections online
The complete works of many 18th century authors, women writers of the 18th century and French Revolution collections are included
Ministry Matters
Ministry Matters provides a collection of commentaries, Bible dictionaries, and other reference works with which to prepare sermons, lessons, and research papers. Titles include New Interpreter's Bible, Dictionary of Pastoral Care and Counseling, and Works of John Wesley.
Works of John Wesley: The Bicentennial Edition on CD-ROM
In addition to 14 volume Jackson edition, the CD also contains the Bicentennial Edition volumes 1-4, 7, 18-24 which includes a modern editions of Wesley's hymns, sermons, and journals.
World Christian Database
Based on World Christian Encyclopedia and World Christian Trends, information is readily available on religious activities, growth rates, religious literature, worker activity, population, health, education, and communications.

Periodicals

Wesleyan Theological Journal (1966-Current)
Published by the Wesleyan Theological Society and generally focuses on Methodist interpretations of theological issues. Also available online through ATLA (indexes 1966-2010) and the Wesley Center Online. (indexes 1966 through 2010)

Methodist History (1962-Current)
Journal with a focus on the history of Methodism published by the United Methodist Church Commission on Archives and History. Also available electronically through the UMC Commission on Archives and History website.

Circuit Rider (1976-Current)
Quarterly journal aimed at Methodist clergy published by the United Methodist Publishing House for clergy. Contains articles about the spiritual, intellectual, and pastoral needs of clergy. Available electronically through United Methodist Publishing House(2001-current).

North Carolina Conference Christian Advocate (1900-Current)
North Carolina's journal of the Methodist church. Issues from 1900 to the present are available in the Divinity Library. Rubenstein holds additional issues from 1894-1899.

Complete list of Methodist church periodicals available at Duke.

Internet Resources

Recent internet resources added on the subject of "Methodist" See more bookmarks at our Delicious page.

Search for Books

Here are some examples of subject headings that can be used when searching for books on the Methodist church in Duke's library catalog or in other library catalogs via WorldCat. Use the facets on the left hand side of the search results page to further refine results.

Methodist church	Methodism
Wesley, John, 1703-1791	Methodist Church -- Doctrines
Methodism -- History	Methodist Chuch -- Sermons

Materials on the Methodist church are generally listed under the call numbers BX8201 through BX8495. Many of our materials on Methodist history, particularly conference minutes and official Methodist publications, are located in the Baker Methodist Research Center on the main floor of the library.

Reference Books

Encyclopedia of World Methodism
Call Number: BX8211 .E5 1974 in Divinity Ready Ref and Baker
ISBN: 0687117844
This two-volume work aims to be a complete reference resource for studying Methodism. Entries provide information on important people, places, terms, and organizations that have contributed to or are a part of the Methodist church. Available online through the Internet Archive.
Dictionary of Methodism in Britain and Ireland
Call Number: BX8211 .D52 2000 in Divinity Baker
This dictionary provides information on terms relating to Methodism with a specific focus on Methodism in the areas of Great Britain and Ireland. This is a great resource to check when performing research on Methodism in the that region, although for more comprehensive information the Encyclopedia of World Methodism may be a better resource.
Historical Dictionary of Methodism
Call Number: BX8211 .H57 2005 in Divinity Baker
The Historical Dictionary of Methodism provides explanations and definitions for terms, people, and concepts relating to the Methodist church with a particular emphasis on the church's history. However, it also provides adequate coverage for the global scope of Methodism. This is a great resource to consult when researching not only Methodist history, but international Methodism as well.
United Methodist Studies : Basic Bibliographies
Call Number: BX8331.2 .U558 1998 in Divinity Ref, Baker & Stacks
This work provides lists of resources for many topics relating to Methodism, including history, doctrine, polity, and general resources. This is an excellent source to consult when looking for resources about specific topics in Methodism. The fourth edition is available in the Divinity Library, but the most recent edition is available online through Drew University.

Parish and Denominational Studies (Divinity): Methodist

Databases

Periodicals

Internet Resources

Search for Books

Reference Books

Research Tools

Contact Us

Services for...