LibGuides: Parish and Denominational Studies (Divinity): Catholic

Databases

ATLA Religion Database
Indexes journals and book essays in religion and theology. Suggested search terms include "Catholic Church."

Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
A primary index for Roman Catholic journal articles, essays, book reviews and monographic literature. Search using "Pastoral theology", "Evangelistic work", or "Christian leadership."
World Christian Database
Based on World Christian Encyclopedia and World Christian Trends, information is readily available on religious activities, growth rates, religious literature, worker activity, population, health, education, and communications.
Corpus Thomisticum
Contains complete, full-text versions of the complete works of St. Thomas Aquinas, along with an index and bibliography. Although some introductory materials are available in English, most of the material is only in Latin.
US Relations with the Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1950
This unique resource provides a wealth of primary resource material concerning US relations with the Vatican during the 1940's, including correspondences, reports, and interviews about the Vatican and Pope Pius XII's positions in the turbulent decade.

Periodicals

Communio: International Catholic Review (1974-Current)
Journal published by SAGE publications focusing on focusing on Catholic interpretations of theology and culture. Available online through ATLA (1958-current).

Catholic Biblical Quarterly (1939-Current)
Journal publushed by the Catholic Biblical Association which provides Catholic interpretations and commentary on the Bible. Available online through ATLA (beginning with 1946 and with a one-year delay on current) and Humanities International Complete (1990-current).

Worship (1955-Current)
Journal published by Saint John's Abbey that discusses liturgy in the church. Available online through ATLA with coverage dating to 1926, though not all articles have the full text available.

US Catholic (1966-Current)
A monthly magazine aimed at general readers, rather than a scholarly audience, that focuses on contemporary Catholic issues, news, and life in the United States. Available online through ProQuest Religion (1991-current) and Academic Search Complete (1992-present, indexes beginning in 1984)

Complete list of Catholic church periodicals at Duke

Internet Resources

Recent internet resources added on the subject of "Catholic" See more bookmarks at our Delicious page.

Search for Books

Here are some examples of subject headings that can be used when searching for books on the Catholic church in Duke's library catalog or in other library catalogs via WorldCat. Use the facets on the left hand side of the search results page to further refine results.

Catholic Church	Catholics
Catholic Church -- History	Catholic Church -- United States
Catholic Church -- Doctrines	Catholic Chuch -- Liturgy

Materials on the Catholic church are generally listed under the call numbers BX800 through BX4795.

Reference Books

New Catholic Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref BX841 .N44 2003 in Divinity
The 15-volume New Catholic Encyclopedia is a standard reference work for performing research on Catholicism. The encyclopedia includes coverage on Catholic doctrine, interpretations of the Bible and its prominent figures, and major figures in Catholicism. Published in 2002, the coverage extends from Biblical times into the present era and addresses modern issues. Bibliographies are provided for all entries allowing for further research. This is a fantastic work to consult when beginning research on Catholicism.
Historical Dictionary of Catholicism
Call Number: Ref BX945.3 .C65 2012 in Divinity
The Historical Dictionary of Catholicism provides definitions and information on Catholic theology, doctrines, and practices, covering the entire history of Catholicism up through the present day. The dictionary section is supplemented by a chronology, an introduction which explains the background and context of Catholicism, and several appendices including items such as a list of Popes and major Catholic prayers. A bibliography, organized by topic, provides a multitude of additional works for further research.
Encyclopedia of Catholic Social Thought, Social Science, and Social Policy
Call Number: Ref BX1753 .E595 2007 in Divinity
For information on Catholic stances on prominent social issues, the Encyclopedia of Catholic Social Thought, Social Science, and Social Policy is a great starting point. The encyclopedia provides coverage on many topics that have been debated or are relevant to Catholic social thought. Additionally, entries for major philosophers and theologians provide information on their own views. Suggestions for further reading are attached to each article for additional research and sources of Catholic opinion. If you are performing research on major social issues in the Catholic church, this is a perfect starting point.
The Encyclopedia of American Catholic History
Call Number: Ref BX1406.2 .E53 1997 in Divinity
The Encyclopedia of American Catholic History looks at Catholicism throughout American history, from the earliest colonies through modern day. Entries provide information on prominent American Catholic figures and institutions, and the role they played in developing American Catholicism. Although this does not have the broad scope of the New Catholic Encyclopedia, the Encyclopedia of American Catholic History has significantly more coverage on topics related to American Catholicism, making it a great starting point for researching Catholicism in an American context.