Italian Studies

Duke holds historic newspapers in print and microform, and receives current newspapers in print and in electronic form. Consult the catalog or the guide on finding newspapers for more information 

Italy - Newspapers (links to the subject of Italian Newspapers)

• ANSA news agency 
• Il sole 24 ore [electronic resource].
• Corriere della sera [microform]  Anno 84, n. 111 (10 magg. 1959)-  Perkins/Bostock Library | Microforms Microfilm | S74S 
• Il Manifesto
• La stampa [electronic resource].

       Read a 2013 market report for Italian newspapers at Business wire (Italian version) [electronic resource].

Internet Media Directories

• Giornali.IT    Links to national and local newspapers

Aggregated Sources for News in Italian

• Alternative Press Index - Alternative Press Index Archive (APIA) is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals.
• Ethnic newswatch  Contains the full text of more than 450,000 articles, editorials, and reviews published in nearly 200 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, and journals published in the United States.
• Factiva The database makes available articles in full text searchable by topic or date range  
• IBZ Online Lists more than two million articles in a wide variety of German and non-German journals, annuals, learned society yearbooks, conference proceedings, newspapers, etc. in all fields of knowledge and all languages, from a German point of view.
• Nexis Uni Provides full text access to a wide range of. US. and international newspapers, radio and television transcripts.

Looking at Italy from an American Perspective

• America's newspapers  America's Newspapers is a large collection of titles arranged by state and region.
• America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 - America's Historical Newspapers allows users to search U.S. historical papers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states
• Newspaper Source Contains selected full text articles from over 140 regional U.S. newspapers, several international newspapers, news-wires, and the Christian Science Monitor.

More Newspapers

• Los Angeles Times, 1985-1996
• Los Angeles Times, 1881-1985 (incomplete)
• New York Times (1851-3yrs ago) 
• New York Times (1980-) 
• Wall Street journal 1889-1992
• Wall Street journal (1984 - )    
• World Newspaper Archive

Looking at Italy from a European Perspective (in English)

• 19th Century British Library Newspapers Collection - Contains full runs of newspapers specially selected to best represent nineteenth-century Britain.
• 19th Century U.S. Newspapers - Access to approximately 500 U.S. newspapers, published between 1800 and 1900.
• Guardian and The Observer - The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister paper, The Observer (1791-2003) provide online access to facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant and fascinating political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past 200 years.
• Illustrated London News Historical Archive - Provides access to the entire run of the Illustrated London News from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003
• Times digital archive 1785-1985

General Resources

• Italian News Agencies An overview of Italian media landscape.
• List of Italian Newspapers in CRL's Collection Available via interlibrary loan to researchers from CRL member institutions.
• Rassegna Stampa Quotidiani Search engine for several Italian and international dailies.

NEWSPAPERS

• Corriere Della Sera (Milano)
• Il Giornale (Roma)
• Il Messaggero (Roma)
• La Nazione (Firenze)
• La Repubblica (Roma)
• Il Resto del Carlino (Bologna)
• Il Sole 24 Ore (Milano)
• La Stampa (Torino)
• L'Avvenire (Milano)
• Il Giornale di Sicilia (Palermo)
• L'Unione Sarda (Cagliari)
• Il Fatto quotidiano (Online)
• Fanpage.it (Online)

NEWS MAGAZINES

• L'Espresso (Roma, weekly)
• Panorama (Milano, weekly)

RADIO & TV BROADCASTERS

• RAI (National Public Broadcaster)
• Mediaset (National Private Broadcaster)
• Cairo Communication (National Private Broadcaster)
• Sky Italia (National Private Broadcaster)
• Radio italiane (list of Italian radio stations and podcasts, by region and topic)

OTHER

• Giornalone (Today's front pages of national dailies)
• List of archives and digitized collections of Italian newspapers