Italian Studies

Start here if you want to find books on your topic. Start with the Duke catalog if you want to find out if Duke holds a particular journal.

• Duke University Catalog
• WorldCat

• Italian e-books:Torrossa Casalini full text platform.

Other

• Google Booksearch it (full-text and preview)
• Europeana (heritage and visual)
• Hathi Trust (full-text and preview)
• Project Gutenberg - Italian Books (full-text )

Online Catalogs for Finding Books not held in many libraries in the US (advanced research)

• OPAC of National Library Service (Catalogo del Servizio Bibliotecario Nazionale)
• Italian OPAC Directory (Repertorio degli OPAC italiani)
• Italian Union Catalog of Serials (Catalogo italiano dei periodici)
• Older Digitized Catalogs (I cataloghi storici digitalizzati dell'ICCU)
• The Central Institute for the Union Catalogue of Italian Libraries and Bibliographic Information
• Center for Research Libraries 
• Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog (KVK)
• Library of Congress
• National Central Library of Rome (Catalogo della biblioteca nazionale centrale di Roma)
• National Central Library of Florence (Catalogo della biblioteca nazionale centrale di Firenze)
• National Library of Naples (Catalogo della biblioteca nazionale di Napoli)
• National University Library of Turin (Catalogo della biblioteca nazionale universitaria di Torino)
• Braidense National Library (Cataloghi della biblioteca nazionale Braidense)
• Marciana National Library (Cataloghi della biblioteca Nazionale Marciana)

Click here for a sample list of dictionaries and more 

Browse the Catalog to Get an Idea for a Research Topic; example "Food"

• Copy and paste the terms below into the Duke Catalog (Duke Homepage: Catalog or Books &More tab )

General Terms

• ITALY-CULTURE
• ITALY--ECONOMIC CONDITIONS
• ITALY--ECONOMIC POLICY
• ITALY--HISTORY
• ITALY--POPULATION
• ITALY-POLITICS AND GOVERNMENT
• ITALY--SOCIAL CONDITIONS
• ITALY--SOCIAL LIFE AND CUSTOMS ART, ITALY
• ITALIAN LANGUAGE
• ITALIAN LITERATURE
• ITALIAN DRAMA
• ITALIAN WIT AND HUMOR
• FOLK LITERATURE, ITALIAN
• MOTION PICTURES--ITALY

Historical Treatments:

• Near a thousand tables : a history of food
• Food in history
• Food : a culinary history from antiquity to the present
• Food in world history
• A history of food [electronic resource]
• Culture of the fork : a brief history of food in Europe
• Salt : a world history
• Six thousand years of bread, its holy and unholy history
• The history and social influence of the potato
• Meals to come : a history of the future of food
• The magic harvest : food, folklore and society
• A thousand years over a hot stove : a history of American women told through food, recipes, and remembrances
• Encyclopedia of kitchen history
• A history of cooks and cooking

"California studies in food and culture "

• Popes, peasants, and shepherds : recipes and lore from Rome and Lazio
• The life of cheese [electronic resource] : crafting food and value in America
• The life of cheese : crafting food and value in America
• Curried cultures : globalization, food, and South Asia
• A feast of weeds : a literary guide to foraging and cooking wild edible plants
• Beyond hummus and falafel [electronic resource] : social and political aspects of Palestinian food in Israel
• American tuna : the rise and fall of an improbable food
• The cookbook library : four centuries of the cooks, writers, and recipes that made the modern cookbook
• Coffee life in Japan [electronic resource]
• Why calories count [electronic resource] : from science to politics
• Weighing in : obesity, food justice, and the limits of capitalism
• Free for all : fixing school food in America
• Culinary ephemera : an illustrated history
• Of sugar and snow : a history of ice cream making
• Encyclopedia of pasta
• Tastes and temptations : food and art in Renaissance Italy
• M.F.K. Fisher among the pots and pans : celebrating her kitchens
• Cooking [electronic resource] : the quintessential artThe taste of place : a cultural journey into terroir
• Food politics : how the food industry influences nutrition and health
• Food : the history of taste
• Arranging the meal : a history of table service in France
• Meals to come : a history of the future of food
• The queen of fats : why omega-3s were removed from the Western diet and what we can do to replace them
• Born again bodies [electronic resource] : flesh and spirit in American Christianity
• Tsukiji : the fish market at the center of the world
• Paradox of plenty : a social history of eating in modern America
• Our overweight children : what parents, schools, and communities can do to control the fatness epidemic
• Paradox of plenty : a social history of eating in modern America
• Eating apes
• Safe food : bacteria, biotechnology, and bioterrorism
• Camembert : a national myth
• Zinfandel [electronic resource] : a history of a grape and its wine
• Food politics : how the food industry influences nutrition and health
• Dangerous tastes : the story of spices

 Click below to find individual titles in another series:

• "Yale agrarian studies series"

Food and Faith

• Food and Faith - Norman Wirzba
• The Philosophy of Food - David M. Kaplan (Editor)
• Paradox of Plenty - Harvey Levenstein
• The Omnivore's Dilemma - Michael Pollan
• Animal, Vegetable, Miracle - Barbara Kingsolver; Camille Kingsolver; Steven L. Hopp
• Bringing It to the Table - Wendell Berry; Michael Pollan (Introduction by)
• Good Eating - Stephen H. Webb
• Food, Farming, and Faith - Gary W. Fick
• Food for Life - L. Shannon Jung
• The supper of the lamb; a culinary reflection - Capon, Robert Farrar
• Acceptable Genes? - Conrad G. Brunk (Editor); Harold Coward (Editor)
• Eating and Believing - David Grumett (Editor); Rachel Muers (Editor)

Alphabetica union catalog created by ICCU (Istituto Centrale per il Catalogo Unico delle biblioteche italiane),

  SBN OPAC [https://opac.sbn.it/], the national union catalog containing over 18.5 million bibliographic notices. The network SBN includes 6,535 libraries and 103 library hubs.

·       Manus Online [https://manus.iccu.sbn.it], the catalog of manuscripts with almost 300,000 records, 40,815 images and over 300,000 names related to manuscripts.

·       EDIT16 [https://edit16.iccu.sbn.it/en-US/], the national census of Italian editions of the XVI century, with 69,367 bibliographic notices, 25,736 notices about authors, and 5,794 notices about publishers.

·       Aggregatore digitale e SBNTeca, containing over 17 million digital objects digitized by 280 libraries participating to the project Internet Culturale [http://www.internetculturale.it/].

·       Anagrafe delle Biblioteche Italiane, the registry of Italian libraries with information on 12.649 libraries.

Credits: Rossanna Moriello