This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Art History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Last Updated: Aug 28, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/arthistory Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Rubenstein Riches

Duke's Rare Book, Manuscript and Special Collections Library has untold unique resources.  Because of the nature of its collections, its riches are not as discernable through the Duke catalog as other material.  In addition to doing a search limited to Rubenstein Library, email or query a special collections librarian for a consult on what may be of interest.  RUBENSTEIN SEARCH

 

Beginnings - Reference Sources



Selecting Sources (2 min video)  

Oxford Art Online
- Dictionary of Art and the Encyclopedia of Esthetics (and two smaller dictionaries) searchable at once.  The major beginning point for art history research.

Oxford Reference Online - Art and Architecture
- group of electronic dictionary sources published by Oxford U Press.  Basically short definitions.


Getty Research Portal - Getty Research Institute's collection of publicly-accessible digitized art history texts in the public domain.

Encyclopedia of World Art - hardcopy only
- older, but longer essays on art topics and issue  + half of every volume is plates, may in color; - older

Pelican History of Art (series) Lilly Reference [various titles depending on period] Lilly N5300.P38
- the standard English-language history of art.  Continuously updated.  + extra images; good beginning bibliography

 

Specialized Reference

Keep in mind that specialized Dictionaries can answer many simple art questions.

Symbol Dictionaries

Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art by Hall, James. (Boulder : Westview Press, c2008.)Lilly Library Ready Reference N7560.H34 2008

Artists Biographical Dictionaries

Dictionary of Atists "Benezit." [electronic resource] and hardcopy, 14 vols.  Paris: Grund, 2006, N40 .D5213 2006   

Period Dictionaries

The Grove encyclopedia of classical art & architecture [electronic resource and book]

Decorative Arts

Grove encyclopedia of decorative arts  [electronic resource and book]

Visual Studies Librarian

Profile Image
Lee Sorensen
Contact Info
email: LSLILLY@duke.edu
104 Lilly Library
Box 90727
919 660-5994
 

Did You Find What You Needed?

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip