Art & Art History

Key Writers on Art (vols 1 & 2)

1. Antiquity to the Nineteenth Century

2. The twentieth century

Oxford Bibliographies

Series

Art History: It's Use and Abuse

Online access

Encyclopedia of World Art

Online access (archive.org)

In addition to the sources used for general art history, architecture has some great specialized tool.

Archives

Cities and their constituent universities often have specialized collections  Chicago is used as an example

CITY LINKS: 

• University of Illinois-Chicago digital archives https://library.uic.edu/collections/digital/collections/

University of Chicago - Sengstacke Archives https://luna.lib.uchicago.edu/luna/servlet/view/all/what/Chicago+%28Ill.%29?sort=creator%2Cculture%2Cdate%2Cstyle_or_period

• City historical societies http://www.encyclopedia.chicagohistory.org/
• City Library https://www.chipublib.org/digital-collections/

ETHNICITIES WITHIN A CITY

• Umbra https://items.ssrc.org/parameters/umbra-search-african-american-history-aggregating-african-american-digital-archives/
• Historymakers https://www.thehistorymakers.org/

GENERAL

• Library of Congress Digital photography collection  https://www.loc.gov/photos/?q=chicago&st=gallery
• Artstor - limit to 'architecture' or 'photographs'  https://library-artstor-org.proxy.lib.duke.edu/#/browse/library;viewId=250
• Professional image collections (the art librarian disparages the existence of these collections, but for reference purposes, uselful) --Getty images - photogrAphy, "urban historic Chicago" https://www.gettyimages.com/photos/
• Aggregate collections  Flickr (Bronzeville, example) https://www.flickr.com/search/?text=bronzeville