Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Tobacco Collections: Introduction

Materials related to the advertising of tobacco products in the Hartman Center

Fatima Cigarettes Ad

Introduction to Tobacco Related Collections in the Rubenstein Library

The Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History and Rubenstein Library hold a large number of collections documenting many facets of tobacco history in the United States.  In addition to tobacco advertising and ephemera, the library also holds the records of tobacco manufacturers, tobacco industry executives, tobacco-related publications, photographs, and tobacco ephemera such as packaging, tags, cards and broadsides. 

This guide serves as an introductory compendium to tobacco collection in the Rubenstein Library, not a complete list of all relevant material and is divided into the following sections:

  • Advertising Agency Collections
  • General Collections
  • Print Advertisements
  • Publications
  • Digital Collections

Additional Library Material

On Line Catalog:

The on line catalog is the most comprehensive way of finding relevant materials across the Rubenstein Library's collections.  Start your search from the Rubenstein's home page to limit your results to our collections.  There are separate tabs in the search bar for both the catalog and our collection guide database.  To ensure that you search thoroughly across our holding, run search terms through both.

Further Questions:

For additional information contact the Hartman Center through this form.

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Josh Larkin Rowley
Contact:
Rubenstein Rare Book and Manuscript Library
919-660-5833