Tobacco Collections: Advertisements

Pollay was Professor and Curator of the History of Advertising Archives at the University of British Columbia. In addition to thousands of print advertisements, the Pollay collection houses tobacco ephemera, packaging, and promotional items such as mugs, ashtrays, and apparel.

The Liggett and Myers records house print advertisements for the company's prominent brands Fatima and Chesterfield. It also contains print advertisements for competing brands such as Marlboro, Parliament, and Pall Mall.

The W. Duke, Sons & Co. records houses examples of the company's early advertising and promotional efforts such as tobacco cards, pins and tags, and scrapbooks.

The Stifel Collection includes print advertisements, merchandise catalogs, point of sale displays, labels and packaging, smoking cessation material, and assorted memorabilia and collectibles.

A bulk of the material in the Tobacco Collection dates from the late 19th and early 20th century. It includes advertisements, trade cards, broadsides, display signs, and assorted ephemera for multiple tobacco products including cigars, pipe tobacco, and rolling tobacco.

Collection contains early 20th century tobacco advertising including trade cards, silks and fabrics, pins, and cartons.

This collection contains print advertisements from multiple tobacco clients represented by the agency including Liggett and Myers, Philip Morris, R.J. Reynolds, and General Cigar.

The Wells Rich Greene Records houses print advertisements documenting the agency's work on the Philip Morris brand Benson & Hedges.

The DMB&B records contains print advertisements and television spots for the agency's work on the Philip Morris brand Parliament.

Created by collectors Gary and Sandra Baden, this collection has two boxes of print advertisements mostly from the first half of the 20th century from many prominent brands.

Pollay was a Professor and Curator of the History of Advertising Archive at the University of British Columbia. This collection houses compilations of historic cigarette advertising, including radio ads, from many prominent brands including Marlboro, Chesterfield, Luck Strike, Camel, Kool, and Pall Mall.

Collection contains scripts from multiple radio and television programs sponsored by several of the company's brands.

Collection contains scripts for tobacco sponsored radio programs predominantly from the 1930s and '40s. Companies represented in include General Cigar, Lorillard, and American Tobacco.

Feminist film maker, author, teacher and media critic, Kilbourne's papers document her study of tobacco advertising, particularly strategies used to target women.

Paula Green was an advertising executive at DDB and Paula Green Advertising. The collection documents her work on various anti-tobacco campaigns for the American Cancer Society, the NY Dept. of Health, the U.S. Public Health Service, and the Dept. of Health, Education and Welfare.

The Pollay collection contains materials from multiple anti-smoking initiatives in the United States and Canada and includes materials such as pamphlets, direct mail, posters, and television commercials.