Tobacco Collections: General Collections

The Washington Duke papers contains materials documenting the early operations of the W. Duke, Sons & Company tobacco operations including ledgers and other financial records.

The Benjamin Duke papers contain an abundance of material documenting his many business and financial interests including the American Tobacco Company and W. Duke, Sons & Company. Materials include correspondence, legal, and financial records.

The James Buchanan Duke Papers house materials documenting various tobacco enterprises including W. Duke, Sons & Company, American Tobacco Company, and British-American Tobacco Company. Correspondence includes negotiations between Duke representatives of the Bonsack Machine Company, manufacturers of a cigarette-rolling machine.

The Duke Family papers contain materials relating to the operations of the American Tobacco Co. and British-American Tobacco Co. including correspondence, financial records, and legal records.

Collection contains shareholder and Board of Directors meeting minutes, along with an expense ledger.

The British-American Tobacco Co. was established in 1902 by an agreement between the Imperial Tobacco Co. of Great Britain and the American Tobacco Company and its associates. The collections contains records documenting primarily the company's activities at Petersburg, Virginia and includes ledgers, letter books, journals, invoices, and correspondence.

The papers of philanthropist and industrialist James Augustus Thomas primarily concern his business and diplomatic dealings in East Asia, and the opening of the tobacco market in China.

Richard Pollay was professor and curator of the History of Advertising Archives at the Sauder School of Business, University of British Columbia. This collection contains material across numerous formats and tobacco-related topics. Just a few include tobacco advertising and deceptive practices; package labeling and health claims; cigarette marketing; "light" and mentholated cigarettes; tobacco-related health issues; and anti-tobacco and non-smokers' rights movements.

Jean Kilbourne is a feminist author, film-maker, educator, and media critic. Her papers document her research into the advertising, marketing, and communications industries. Of particular professional interest to Kilbourne is the advertising of tobacco to women. Her papers contain her research materials, print advertisements, and writings.

Parrish was a tobacco manufacturer and resident of Durham, NC. This collection documents his various business activities including the tobacco trade in China and Japan.

This collection contains 16 photographs shot by Durham-based photographer Derek Anderson for his project When the Dust Settles: A Photographic Survey of the Former Liggett & Meyers Tobacco Factory in Durham, N.C.

Parnell was a commercial photographer based in Durham, NC. His collection document many aspects of Durham life including the tobacco manufacturing business. Many include African American field workers and women manufacturing laborers.

Documentarian Jesse Pryant's work focused on rural and small-town life in the piedmont of central southern Virginia and northern North Carolina. The series 13-Month Crop documents a single year of life on a piedmont Virginia tobacco farm, 2000-2001. The collection also contains several oral histories from individuals involved with various aspects of tobacco manufacturing.

The Gamble photographs document his four visits to China from 1908 to 1932. Some photographs chronicle various aspects of tobacco manufacturing.

Tobacconist of Tarboro, N.C. and employee of the British-American Tobacco Co. Collection contains photographs of his travels in China 1905-06 some of which document tobacco culture of the region.