Skip to main content

Guide to Collections Related to Pan American World Airways: TV & Film Advertisements

Selected collections and materials in Duke University Libraries related to Pan American World Airways.

TV & Film Advertisements

The collections listed here contain TV and film ads for Pan Am, as well as scripts for commercials. Other Pan Am-related audiovisual materials are listed in the Audiovisual Materials section of this guide.

AdViews

This digital collection contains television commercials created or collected by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency from the 1950s to 1980s. The digital collection includes a Pan Am television commercial from the 1960s.

Amil Gargano papers, 1960-2011 and undated

Amil Gargano was an advertising executive with several prominent agencies including Carl Ally, Inc. and Ally & Gargano, in both Detroit and New York. This collection contains a few videocassettes with advertising spots for Pan Am.

NOTE: Original audiovisual materials are closed to research use. Use copies can be requested here.

Helayne Spivak papers, 1972-2015 and undated

Helayne Spivak is an advertising executive and educator based in New York and Richmond, VA. This collection contains several audio reels and video cassettes of Pan Am advertisements.

NOTE: Original audiovisual materials are closed to research use. Use copies can be requested here.

J. Walter Thompson Company. 16mm Microfilm As-Broadcast Scripts, 1928-1958

This collection contains two microfilm reels from the early 1950s pertaining to Pan Am World Airways commercials for Latin American travel.

J. Walter Thompson Company. Frankfurt Office: Audiovisual Materials, 1956-1993 and undated

This collection consists of 16mm and 35mm films, videocassettes and slides that document print advertisements and television commercials produced by the Frankfurt Office for the German and continental European markets. It includes 25 reels of film for Pan Am from the 1960s and 1970s.

NOTE: Original audiovisual materials are closed to research use. Use copies can be requested here.

J. Walter Thompson Company. Roy Glah papers, 1947-2003 and undated

Roy Glah was an executive and assistant to the CEO at the JWT New York Office. This collection includes a JWT History videocassette with advertisement spots on it, including Pan Am spots.

NOTE: Original audiovisual materials are closed to research use. Use copies can be requested here.

McCann-Erickson Audiovisual Collection, 1980s-1990s and undated

The McCann-Erickson Audiovisual Collection spans the 1980s and 1990s and consists of over 700 videocassette tapes of commercials for domestic, international and global advertising campaigns. It includes a sample reel from 1983 with some Pan Am content.

NOTE: Original audiovisual materials are closed to research use. Use copies can be requested here.

Wells Rich Greene Inc. Records, 1954-1998 and undated

This collection contains an extensive amount of both print advertisements and audiovisual materials. It contains several reels of Pan Am television commercials from the 1980s. 

NOTE: Original audiovisual materials are closed to research use. Use copies can be requested here.