Skip to main content

Guide to Collections Related to Pan American World Airways: Audiovisual Materials

Selected collections and materials in Duke University Libraries related to Pan American World Airways.

Audiovisual Materials

The collections listed in this section contain various audiovisual materials (cassettes, film reels, etc.) that contain content related to Pan Am. Many of these audiovisual materials are TV and film advertisements for Pan Am. However, several collections contain audiovisual resources that are not specifically advertisements—these include speeches, presentations, and other miscellaneous activities and events.

AdViews

This digital collection contains television commercials created or collected by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency from the 1950s to 1980s. The digital collection includes a Pan Am television commercial from the 1960s.

Amil Gargano papers, 1960-2011 and undated

Amil Gargano was an advertising executive with several prominent agencies including Carl Ally, Inc. and Ally & Gargano, in both Detroit and New York. This collection contains numerous video cassettes and film reels with content related to Pan Am, including advertising spots, speeches, travel, client information, and more.

NOTE: Original audiovisual materials are closed to research use. Use copies can be requested here.

Helayne Spivak papers, 1972-2015 and undated

Helayne Spivak is an advertising executive and educator based in New York and Richmond, VA. This collection contains several audio reels and video cassettes of Pan Am advertisements.

NOTE: Original audiovisual materials are closed to research use. Use copies can be requested here.

J. Walter Thompson Company. Detroit Office audiovisual materials, 1967-2003 and undated

JWT maintained an office in Detroit from 1909 to 1920 and reopened it in 1944. This collection includes videocassettes, CDs and DVDs of advertisements, speeches, presentations, historical campaign compilations; awards submissions, training materials and other materials. One videocassette in Box 16 contains content related to Pan Am.

NOTE: Original audiovisual materials are closed to research use. Use copies can be requested here.

J. Walter Thompson Company. Ed George papers, 1938-2013 and undated

This collection contains an audio compilation reel that features music for Pan Am on it. The reel is from Kelso Herston Enterprises, and the music was most likely used in Pan Am advertisements.

NOTE: Original audiovisual materials are closed to research use. Use copies can be requested here.

J. Walter Thompson Company, Frankfurt Office: Audiovisual Materials, 1956-1993 and undated

This collection consists of 16mm and 35mm films, videocassettes and slides that document print advertisements and television commercials produced by the Frankfurt Office for the German and continental European markets. It includes 25 reels of film for Pan Am from the 1960s and 1970s.

NOTE: Original audiovisual materials are closed to research use. Use copies can be requested here.

J. Walter Thompson Company. Roy Glah papers, 1947-2003 and undated

Roy Glah was an executive and assistant to the CEO at the JWT New York Office. This collection includes a JWT History videocassette with advertisement spots on it, including Pan Am spots.

NOTE: Original audiovisual materials are closed to research use. Use copies can be requested here.

McCann-Erickson Audiovisual Collection, 1980s-1990s and undated

The McCann-Erickson Audiovisual Collection spans the 1980s and 1990s and consists of over 700 videocassette tapes of commercials for domestic, international and global advertising campaigns. It includes a sample reel from 1983 with some Pan Am content.

NOTE: Original audiovisual materials are closed to research use. Use copies can be requested here.

Ralph Rydholm papers, 1936-2014 and undated

Ralph Rydholm was an advertising executive who worked in a number of agencies in Chicago and New York. This collection includes several audio reels of music produced for Pan Am by Kelso Herston Productions.

NOTE: Original audiovisual materials are closed to research use. Use copies can be requested here.

Wells Rich Greene Inc. Records, 1954-1998 and undated

This collection contains an extensive amount of both print advertisements and audiovisual materials. It contains several reels of Pan Am television commercials from the 1980s. 

NOTE: Original audiovisual materials are closed to research use. Use copies can be requested here.

Wunderman Archives, 1946-2010 and undated (restricted to research)

This collection contains advertisements and promotional material for Wunderman’s Pan Am account from 1982 to 1991. Included in this collection is an undated video presentation related to Pan Am.

NOTE: Original audiovisual materials are closed to research use. Use copies can be requested here.