Guide to Collections Related to Pan American World Airways: Business Files & Correspondence

Amil Gargano was an advertising executive with several prominent agencies including Carl Ally, Inc. and Ally & Gargano, in both Detroit and New York. This collection contains several client files and miscellaneous materials for Pan Am.

This collection includes lists of cancelled checks, petty cash vouchers and invoices, summaries of advertising production expenses and labor costs and other financial data. Included are microfilm reels of production billing carbons for Pan Am in the 1940s and 1950s.

This collection consists of research reports, market studies, account histories, office overviews, campaign studies and other investigative documents. Included is one microfilm reel documenting Pan Am's South American goodwill tour from 1941.

This collection includes correspondence, invoices, claim forms, reports and other printed materials. Topics include billing, clearances, federal laws, insurance claims, taxes and unsolicited ideas. Included are multiple microfilm reels documenting the Pan Am account from 1945 through 1957.

The JWT Account Files collection spans the years 1885 to 2007, with the bulk of materials covering 1920 to 1995. It is an artificially-created collection of information about client accounts held by JWT and provides information about JWT's management of its advertising campaigns. Included is series of printed materials, memorandum, advertising plans, and research reports related to Pan Am that span from 1950 to 1976. Pan Am materials also appear in the World's Fair series of this collection.

This collection from JWT consists of memoranda, correspondence, legal agreements and other printed materials. Included are materials related to Pan Am and the 1972 Winter Olympics in Box 7.

Brouillard Communications, a division of JWT, was established in 1973 and specialized in business-to-business advertising and corporate communications. Collection consists of two alphabetical information and reference files for business category and individual company materials. Includes correspondence, research reports, clippings, tear sheets, printed corporate materials such as annual and quarterly reports, new business and client presentations. Box 59 contains materials related to Pan Am from 1989 to 1991.

Colin Dawkins was a Vice President of JWT. This collection consists of Dawkins' research files, with the bulk of the collection spanning from 1920 to 1981. Materials in this collection pertaining to Pan Am are found in a single folder in Box 10 and include descriptions of various advertising campaigns and a statement by Ernest Hemingway written for Pan Am.

This collection consists of correspondence, office files, memoranda, notes, client files and some advertisements, reports, charts, reprints, schedules, scripts, printed material, and calendars. Included are materials related to management of the Pan Am account. Boxes 20 and 42 contain materials pertaining to Pan Am from 1956 to 1964, including Review Board reports and documents, budget documents, and memoranda.

This extensive collection of print ads from JWT includes numerous boxes of Pan Am advertising from 1942 to 1974. Though it consists mostly of advertisements, correspondence between JWT personnel related to advertisement design and placement can be found in boxes containing materials from the 1960s and 1970s.

Edward G. Wilson was an executive with J. Walter Thompson from 1930 until his retirement in 1971, and held the positions of General Counsel, Executive Vice-President and Secretary of the Company. The two folders of Pan Am materials in this collection include correspondence, financial reports, pamphlets, and advertisements. Of particular interest are memoranda regarding the TWA and Pan Am merger as well as international advertising documents, including Pan Am’s offices in Brazil, Japan, Russia, and Italy.

Denis Lanigan was an executive who managed JWT Offices in Frankfurt, London and New York before being named Vice Chairman and Chief Operating Officer. This collection contains Pan Am materials including client lists, account personnel lists, and memoranda. Of particular interest are memos regarding the German travel market and Pan Am marketing strategies in Europe.

This collection documents Black’s tenure as Creative Department Head in the 1970s and as Chairman of JWT-Frankfurt from 1976 to 1988. The collection contains multiple folders pertaining to Pan Am from 1974 to 1976, including letters, articles about Pan Am ads, manager account notes, and notes regarding specific ads. Box 5 also contains detailed information regarding the effect of the Fair Competitive Practices Act on Pan Am’s business deals and advertisements, including letters to government officials and other materials.

The Paul-G. Siebel Papers contain correspondence, memoranda, speeches, and other documents spanning the years 1968 to 1975. The bulk of the material in the collection dates from Siebel's tenure as Geschäftsführer (General Manager) of J.Walter Thompson's Frankfurt Office from 1969 through 1975. Pan Am is mentioned in materials from the European Media Manager Meeting Series of this collection.

Peter Gilow was an advertising executive at JWT. Several boxes in this collection contain Pan Am materials from 1969 to 1978. Materials include memoranda regarding personnel information, advertising coordination across international offices, and budget documents. Box 9 contains specific information regarding the retention of the Pan Am account from 1971 to 1972. Some documents are in German.

Harry Clark served as Director of the JWT Frankfurt office during the 1970s and as Director of JWT in New York from 1984 to 1986. This collection has several boxes of Pan Am materials. The collection primarily includes memoranda, campaign planning documents, campaign texts, correspondence, meeting notes, and presentation documents. Many of the documents are in German.

John F. Devine served as administrator of the Radio/Television Department at JWT from 1954 to 1960 and then as a corporate executive in New York from 1960 to 1970. The collection contains two boxes with materials pertaining to Pan Am. These materials primarily include memoranda, budget documents, and advertising contracts from 1957 to 1967.

The materials in this collection are primarily legal documents. This collection includes two boxes with documents pertaining to Pan Am, including legal contracts, releases, and photographs.

Harry Clark served as Director of the JWT Frankfurt office during the 1970s and as Director of JWT in New York from 1984 to 1986. This collection has several boxes of Pan Am materials. The collection primarily includes memoranda, campaign planning documents, campaign texts, correspondence, meeting notes, and presentation documents. Many of the documents are in German.

John F. Devine served as administrator of the Radio/Television Department at JWT from 1954 to 1960 and then as a corporate executive in New York from 1960 to 1970. The collection contains two boxes with materials pertaining to Pan Am. These materials primarily include memoranda, budget documents, and advertising contracts from 1957 to 1967.

The materials in this collection are primarily legal documents. This collection includes two boxes with documents pertaining to Pan Am, including legal contracts, releases, and photographs.

This collection includes several folders of Pan Am materials, including financial analysis and market planning reports, briefing materials, press coverage of Pan Am advertisements created by JWT, meeting schedules, promotional materials, and promotional strategies.

Norman Hulbert Strouse served as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of JWT during the 1960s.This collection contains a single bar graph chart with budget information for the Pan Am account from 1956 to 1963.

The Review Board Records, document the New York Office’s primary mechanism of service quality control. The records consist of meeting minutes, correspondence, memoranda, and reports. This collection has two boxes relating to Pan Am with documents spanning from 1955 to 1970. Materials include meeting minutes, account summaries, and advertising proposals. Topics include Pan Am business jets, Latin American and other overseas divisions, as well as passenger and cargo services.

This collection contains extensive documentation regarding Woodell’s involvement with Pan Am’s Latin America division. The materials span from 1946 to 1958 and include personal letters, field notes, and contact information for account personnel. Of particular interest are Woodell’s notes on his experience as a Pan Am passenger, his letters pertaining to the possible acquisition of the Pan Am account, and his description of Pan Am’s facilities, staff, and competitive position in Latin America.

The Sidney Ralph Bernstein Company History Files span the years 1873 to 1964, but the bulk of the material dates from 1963 to 1964. The files were created by Sidney Ralph Bernstein and Marianne Keating, his research assistant, for a commemorative history of the J. Walter Thompson Company at the time of its centennial anniversary. The Client Files Series of this collection contains materials related to Pan Am, including information regarding Pan Am’s global account, newspaper articles regarding the airline, and copies of competitors’ advertisements.

This collection primarily documents Wilson’s career as an administrator coping with JWT’s financial difficulties during the mid-1970s. The collection contains a single folder pertaining to Pan Am from the period of December 1969 to November 1970. The folder primarily houses advertisements from three ad campaigns during this period. Additional Pan Am materials include review board records and a market research study.

Thomas Sutton was an executive in charge of JWT’s international operations during the 1960s and 1970s. This collection includes extensive documentation regarding JWT’s Pan Am accounts in Central and South America, including Argentina, Brazil, Mexico, Chile, Colombia, and Peru. Materials include budget documents, schedules of billings, performance reports, personnel records, personal letters, and memoranda.

Vergil Reed was an economist with JWT in the 1940s and 1950s, and Lubertus Smilde was his colleague and successor in JWT's Market Research Department. This collection contains a market research study from 1958 predicting overseas travel based on education.

This collection documents the career of Wallace Elton. The Client Files Series contains collateral literature related to Pan Am, and the Advertisements Series contains a scrapbook and other advertising materials related to Pan Am.

Winfield Taylor served as a copywriter at JWT before becoming a Vice President. Box 11 contains documents pertaining to Pan Am from 1957 to 1960. The majority of these materials feature copy from advertising campaigns from 1958 and 1959. Additional documents include marketing analysis information, ideas for new ads, trip reports, commercial scripts, ad write ups, and budget documents.

This collection contains multiple volumes with documents relevant to Pan Am. The majority of these materials include client talks and speeches from 1951 to 1963. Topics and venues include annual sales meeting reports, market studies, economic outlooks, and specific advertising campaigns. Many of these boxes contain handwritten notes and articles with charts.

Jane Kilbourne was a journalist, editor and public relations executive primarily with Pan American airlines, based in New York. This collection includes correspondence, clippings, photographs, scrapbooks and published articles that document Kilbourne's career with Pan Am as a public relations executive and publications editor specializing in women's issues and interests regarding travel, food and fashion design.

Ralph Rydholm was an advertising executive who worked in a number of agencies in Chicago and New York. This collection includes a few personal and professional files related to Pan Am from when Rydholm worked with the J. Walter Thompson Company.