Skip to main content

Guide to Collections Related to Pan American World Airways: Photographic Materials

Selected collections and materials in Duke University Libraries related to Pan American World Airways.

Photographic Materials

The collections listed in this section of the guide contain photographic materials related to Pan Am, including slides, negatives, and photographic prints. Subject matter of the images ranges from Pan Am aircraft to the Pan Am building in New York, as well as images used in advertisements.

Amil Gargano papers, 1960-2011 and undated

Amil Gargano was an advertising executive with several prominent agencies including Carl Ally, Inc. and Ally & Gargano, in both Detroit and New York. Boxes 12 and 41 have photographs for Pan Am in them, and Boxes 31 and 32 contain several folders of slides for Pan Am.

Doris Duke Photograph Collection, 1870-2006

Doris Duke was the only child of James Buchanan (J.B.) Duke, a founder of the American Tobacco Company and Duke Energy Company and a benefactor of Duke University, and Nanaline Holt Duke. The Shangri La Series of this collection contains black and white photographs of Doris Duke Cromwell's arrival to Hawaii by a Pan Am Clipper in 1937. The photographs have been digitized and can be viewed here: https://repository.duke.edu/dc/dorisdukephotos/ddpph130290. Pan Am-related photographs begin at item 46.

Garrett Orr Papers, circa 1873-1994, bulk 1890s-1914, 1935-1965

The Garrett Orr Papers document the artistic output and personal files of advertising executive Garrett Orr. The Product Files Series of this collection contains two photographic prints of Pan Am billboard ads.

J. Walter Thompson Company. Account Files, 1885-2008 and undated, bulk 1920-1995

The JWT Account Files collection spans the years 1885 to 2007, with the bulk of materials covering 1920 to 1995. It is an artificially-created collection of information about client accounts held by JWT and provides information about JWT's management of its advertising campaigns. The World's Fair series of this collection contains photographs of the Pan Am Building in New York.

J. Walter Thompson Company. Domestic Advertisements Collection, 1875-2001

This extensive collection of print ads from JWT includes numerous boxes of Pan Am advertising from 1942 to 1974. Though it consists mostly of advertisements, photographs used in advertisements can occasionally be found throughout the Pan Am materials, especially in materials from the 1960s and 1970s.

J. Walter Thompson Company. Iconographic Collection, 1848-2005 and undated

Materials in this collection pertaining to Pan Am are primarily slides and negatives. Slides include international undated documents from various countries located in Europe, South America, and Asia. Photographs and negatives include group portraits and Pan Am aircraft from the 1950s and 1960s.

J. Walter Thompson Company. Legal Department Records, 1936-1979

The materials in this collection are primarily legal documents. However, Box 17 contains photographic material from 1967 used for Pan Am advertising.

Jane Kilbourne papers, 1908-1972 and undated

Jane Kilbourne was a journalist, editor and public relations executive primarily with Pan American Airlines, based in New York. This collection includes correspondence, clippings, photographs, scrapbooks and published articles that document Kilbourne's career with Pan Am.

Resource of Outdoor Advertising Descriptions (Road 2.0)

This digital collection contains images of outdoor advertising. The collection contains several advertisements from Pan Am, including billboards and subway posters.