Skip to main content

History 122: History of Latinx in US

Your Librarian

Kelley Lawton's picture
Kelley Lawton
Contact:
114 Lilly Library
919-660-5990

Background Information

Why consult an encyclopedia or dictionary? Scholarly subject encyclopedias and dictionaries are excellent starting places for researchers just beginning a project. For one, they can provide contextualization for any number of topics. They can also provide helpful key terms that can be employed in other searches. Fortunately, many subject encyclopedias and dictionaries provide bibliographies for these entries. These bibliographies can be invaluable in pointing you to important resources on your topic. 

The Duke University Libraries have an outstanding collection of dictionaries and encyclopedias, both in print and online. To find encyclopedias on a specific topic or issue, add encyclopedias to your search statement -- for example, latino encyclopedia

 Online Reference Collections

ABC-CLIO ebook Collection, formerly History Reference Online, is an online collection of hundreds of history reference titles published by ABC-Clio. This is a fantastic resource, which can be browsed by subject categories or full-text searched by keyword. 

 Oxford Reference Online provides access to a selection of reference titles.  The database homepage displays a listing of all the accessible titles. so you can quickly identify the ones that pertain to U.S. history.

Specific General Titles of Interest: Print and Online

Latinx Studies: The Key Concepts

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States

Latino America: A State-By-State Encyclopedia

Latino History and Culture: An Encyclopedia (print)

Encyclopedia of Latino Culture (print)

Latinos in the American Political System

Hispanic American Religious Cultures

 

 

 

‚Äč