LibGuides: History 357S/PUBPOL 232S: The Insurgent South: Other Digital Collections

From other Libraries

North Carolina Commission on Interracial Cooperation Records (UNC)
The North Carolina Commission on Interracial Cooperation was established in 1921 as a state affiliate of the Commission on Interracial Cooperation to work toward improved race relations in the state. Like its parent organization, the NCCIC, sought both to alleviate injustices and to change prejudiced racial attitudes. Its efforts included meetings with individuals, correspondence, press releases, radio programs, pamphlets, local meetings, and state-wide conferences.
Southern Oral History Program (UNC)
The Southern Oral History Program Interview Database provides detailed descriptions of interviews in the Southern Oral History Program Collection. The interviews in this collection were conducted or collected under the auspices of the Southern Oral History Program in the Center for the Study of the American South at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Digital transcripts and audio for many interviews are available.
Freedom Summer Digital Collection (Wisconsin Historical Society)
More than 25,000 pages from the Freedom Summer manuscripts -- enough to fill several file cabinets -- are available online. In them you will find official records of organizations such as the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) and Congress of Racial Equality (CORE); the personal papers of movement leaders and activists such as Amzie Moore, Mary King and Howard Zinn, letters and diaries of northern college students who went South to volunteer for the summer; newsletters produced in Freedom Schools; racist propaganda, newspaper clippings, pamphlets and brochures, magazine articles, telephone call logs, candid snapshots, internal memos, press releases and much more.

National Park Service

This website allows you to explore the National Registry of Historic Places and explains how to list a property.

Tulsa Race Massacre (OK State)
This collection of materials related to the Tulsa Race Massacre (Tulsa Race Riot) comes from the Ruth Sigler Avery Archive housed at the Oklahoma State University-Tulsa Library Special Collections and Archives. The Ruth Sigler Avery Archive consists of research material arranged alphabetically by topic, photographic reproductions of scenes following the riot, audio interviews and transcripts, and handwritten and computer generated writings and drafts produced by Ruth Sigler Avery for her proposed book: Fear, The Fifth Horseman: A Documentary-Anthology of the 1921 Tulsa Race Riot. Please be advised that some images contain graphic content.
SNCC Digital Gateway
This site links to collections of digitized primary sources at Duke and at other archives.
Jessie Daniel Ames Papers (UNC)
Jessie Daniel Ames was a civil rights worker of Atlanta, Ga., Georgetown, Tex., and Tryon, N.C. Beginning in 1922, Ames served separate roles as secretary and vice-president of the Texas Committee on Interracial Cooperation. By 1929, she had moved to Atlanta, where she was director of Women's Work for the Commission on Interracial Cooperation. During this time, Ames established the Association of Southern Women for the Prevention of Lynching, which functioned as a volunteer component within the Commission.

Primary Source Databases

African America, Communists, and the National Negro Congress, 1933-1947
Search primary source materials from the National Negro Congress.
Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle
Search for primary source materials on the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th century. Includes NAACP Papers, federal government records, organizational records, and personal papers.
Documenting the American South
Search for primary sources related to Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the twentieth century. This is an open access database.
Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist, and Woman
Search for primary sources related to the civil rights activist, Fannie Lou Hamer
Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
Search FBI files documenting the federal scrutiny, harassment, and prosecution to which Black Americans of all political persuasions were subjected
Fight for Racial Justice and the Civil Rights Congress
Search for primary sources from the Civil Rights Congress (CRC), 1946-1955
Greensboro Massacre, 1979: Shootout between the American Nazis and the Communist Workers Party
Search primary source documents of FBI surveillance and informant reports and correspondence from a variety of offices involved in the Greensboro Massacre
James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi
Search for primary sources from the FBI on Meredith’s battle to enroll at The University of Mississippi in 1962 and white political and social backlash
Documenting White Supremacy and Its Opponents in the 1920s
Search local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers across the U.S. in the 1920s. Also includes several anti-Klan newspapers.
LGBT Thought and Culture
Search for books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT movements from the 20th century to the present.
NAACP Papers
Search the organizational records of the NAACP.
ProQuest History Vault
Search across primary source collections related to civil rights & the black freedom struggle; southern life, slavery & the civil war; American politics & society; and international relations & military conflicts.
Race Relations in America
Search primary sources related to the Civil Rights Movement, segregation, discrimination, and race theory in America from the Race Relations Department, a think tank based at Fisk University 1943-1970.
Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement
Search for primary sources and interview transcripts from people involved in the American Civil Rights movement
Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War
Search for primary source materials on the plantation system and its impacts.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Search for documents related to the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000

Guide to United States Newspapers These newspapers are available online to Duke students. Compare coverage of an activist, movement, or event in newspapers targeting a white audience and those written by and for African Americans.

Ethnic NewsWatch Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The majority of materials date from the 1990s to the present, but some titles go back to 1959. Use the Advanced Search option to limit to a particular ethnic group (e.g. Asian/Pacific Islander) and search by keyword (e.g. discrimination in one box, Alabama in the other) to look for articles on an issue or event in a southern U.S. state. Use a news report as a springboard to examine that issue using additional resources such as mainstream newspapers and government documents.

The International Women's Movement: The Pan Pacific/Southeast Asia Women’s Association, 1950-1985 Formerly known as the Pan Pacific Women’s Association of the U.S.A., the Pan Pacific and Southeast Asia Women’s Association was founded in 1930 to strengthen international understanding and friendship among the women of Asia and the Pacific and women of the U.S.A.

History 357S/PUBPOL 232S: The Insurgent South

From other Libraries

Primary Source Databases

Contact Us

Services for...