Box 30 - Material related to Durham Equal Suffrage League, Mattie Southgate Jones served as president of the league.
Carr, Ervin M. Alabama Woman Ridicules Idea that Suffrage Amendment would give Vote to Negro Women. Birmingham, Ala. : Alabama Equal Suffrage Association, 1919.
NAACP. Thirty Years of Lynching in the United States, 1889-1918. New York, 1919.
Jessie Daniel Ames papers, 1920-1946.
Photocopy of a history, or possibly preparatory notes for a work on the founding of the Woman's Division of the Commission on Interracial Cooperation in 1920 and a brief summary of its activities up to 1940. Includes a narrative, minutes, speeches, and reports. Jessie Ames added marginal comments in 1946. Note UNC's collection of Jessie Daniel Ames Papers, some of which have been digitized.
Association of Southern Women for the Prevention of Lynching. Southern Women Look at Lynching. Atlanta: Association of Southern Women for the Prevention of Lynching, 1937.
Gordon Blaine Hancock papers, 1928-1970.
Box 1 - Correspondence, printed material, reports, and minutes, concerning the Council's origins and its relationship with the Southern Conference on Race Relations held in Durham, N.C., in 1942, and its predecessor organization, the Commission on Interracial Cooperation.
Box 1: Materials distributed by C.P. Ellis at Duke University freshman dorms, 1969.
Asian and Asian-American Students at Duke (a guide to primary and secondary sources)
Dykes Family Papers, 1942-1945 These are papers of an African American family in Ohio. The collection comprises 69 items, primarily regular letters mailed to Lawyer and Hattie Dykes by their brothers, Leo Dykes and Benjamin J. Peavy, from their military posts during World War II. Leo Dykes describes his experiences primarily while serving in Camp Lejeune, N.C., but also in San Francisco and the Asian Pacific Islands between 1943-1945. Benjamin Peavy wrote while stationed at the Greenville Army Flying School in Greenville, Miss., from 1942-1944. At one point he mentions there are white soldiers who are refusing to salute an African American soldier and are being forced to do so in recognition of rank.
Eugene Varlin, The Negro and the U.S. Army. New York, N.Y. : Published by Pioneer Publishers for the Socialist Workers Party, [1941]
Roy C. Trimiar Correspondence, 1939-1943 (bulk 1942 July-1943 February) Primarily letters from Trimiar to his wife, Lola Wood Trimiar, in Cooleemee and Mocksville, NC (89 items). The letters begin with their courtship (1939) in Cooleemee, but mainly date from Trimiar's service in the U.S. Army Colored Troops stationed at Fort Bragg, N.C., and Fort Oglethorpe, Ga. Topics include the strategies Trimiar used to avoid racism.
Judy Richardson is a veteran of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee who worked in Mississippi during the Mississippi Freedom Summer Project in 1964. Her papers include materials from her years working on staff at SNCC in Atlanta and Mississippi; her involvement with the Drum and Spear Bookstore in Washington D.C.; extensive print and audiovisual materials from her work in documentary film.
Harry C. Boyte was involved in the Democratic Socialist Organizing Committee and New American Movement, a national socialist organization with a Chapel Hill-Durham, North Carolina chapter. He was a member of the National Interim Committee for NAM, a steering committee for local groups. He wrote regularly for NAM and other socialist publications on socialist theory and organization.
David Martin Henderson graduated from Duke University in 1968. While based in Durham, North Carolina, he served as a newspaper editor and a long-time local, state-wide and national political activist. The David Martin Henderson Papers spans 1964-1989 and consists of correspondence and subject files containing letters, newspapers, clippings, pamphlets, broadsides, and internal organizational documents, all pertaining to Henderson's activities as a student radical at Duke University and a community organizer in Durham, N.C. Subjects covered by his papers include anti-war movements, Black Power, communism, G.I. rights, labor, Leninism, Marxism, women's liberation, Students for a Democratic Society and other affiliations. The correspondence is restricted, but the subject file series may be useful.
Student Activism Reference Collection.
The Student Activism Reference Collection was compiled from a variety of sources by the University Archives for use in reference and research. Collection contains materials pertaining to student movements and protests at Duke University. Materials present include flyers, clippings, publications, petitions, chants and slogans, and other printed material. Major topics include: civil rights; human rights; the Vietnam War; and corporate divestiture in South Africa. Materials in the collection date from 1934 and are ongoing.
El Pueblo, Inc. Records, 1994-ongoing.
El Pueblo Inc. is a non-profit organization based in Raleigh, NC that serves and supports the Latin American community of North Carolina through advocacy work, programs in Latino culture, health, public safety, and youth leadership.
Student Action with Farmworkers, 1950-ongoing, bulk 1992-2016.
Major themes in the collection include: history, working conditions, and abuses of migrant farmworkers in the U.S.; education and outreach efforts; housing, health, and pesticide safety; leadership development for migrant youth; grassroots theater; labor organizing and boycotts; and service learning.
Campaign to Free Mrs. Rosa Lee Ingraham Collection, 1954, February-May.
The collection includes three publications related to the campaign to free Mrs. Rosa Lee Ingram, an African American sharecropper and widowed mother of twelve in southwest Georgia, along with two of her sons, Wallace and Sammie Lee Ingram, who were serving life sentences for the 1947 death of their white sharecropper neighbor, John Ethron Stratford.
North Carolina Council of Churches Records, 1935-2001, bulk 1969-1994
The files document the council's attempts to marshal churches in N.C. to act on a variety of social concerns, including race relations, poverty, immigration, the death penalty, war and peace, and ecumenism. Special topics include the United Church Women, NCCC Social Ministries, and outreach to migrant and aging populations.
Duke University Oral History Program Collection
The Duke University Oral History Program Collection contains 238 oral history interviews conducted by project participants in the years 1973-1978 and 1992. The majority of the oral history interviews deal with the civil rights movement in North Carolina, especially Durham, Chapel Hill, and Greensboro. Additionally, thirteen interviews deal with the Tulsa Race Riots, and fourteen interviews cover miscellaneous North Carolina topics. The collection also includes transcripts and research files related to the civil rights movement in North Carolina.
Cronly Family Papers, 1806-1944
See Box 21 for a first-person account of the 1898 coup in Wilmington, N.C.
Amber Arthun Warburton Papers
Course reports, notes, and outlines, scrapbooks, pamphlets, booklets, and three issues of The News from the Southern Summer School for Women Workers in Industry.
CIO Records on Operation Dixie, 1909-1957
Operation Dixie was the program to organize labor in the south. It is a large collection that lacks a normal guide. Contact Elizabeth Dunn for a PDF of the guide to the microfilm of the collection. You can use that as a key to the box contents.
Lucy Randolph Mason Papers, 1910-1959 and undated
Labor activist, public relations representative in the South for the Congress of Industrial Organizations (CIO), and resident of Richmond, Virginia, and Atlanta, Georgia. The letters she received from Eleanor Roosevelt, which span the years 1937-1952, might be an interesting starting point. Contact Elizabeth Dunn if you would like a list of specific documents.
Organizational records from her role in the Triangle Friends of the United Farm Workers (TFUFW), the National Farmworker Ministry (NFWM), the Farmworker Ministry Commission, and the AFL-CIO's Farm Labor Organizing Committee (FLOC)
Student Action with Farmworkers
The records of the Durham, N.C. organization Student Action with Farmworkers comprise: administrative and event files; correspondence; reports, articles, and other publications; student project files; outreach and teaching materials; photographs, artwork, and scrapbooks; audio and video recordings; and materials related to labor organizing and protests across the U.S.
Activist and union organizer who was involved with the Coalition of Labor Union Women, the Service Employees International Union, the Black Radical Congress, the Black Workers for Justice, Jobs with Justice, Solidarity, and the Durham NAACP. El-Amin was also a founding member of the Labor Party and the Southern Anti-Racism Network. Organizational and subject files from El-Amin's years of activism and organizing in the Service Employees International Union, the Black Radical Congress, the Southern Anti-Racism Network, and numerous other groups and causes.
Stand Behind the 23 Militant Gastonia Textile Workers.New York City : Joint Campaign International Labor Defense Workers International Relief, [1929]
Mandy Carter is a self-described "southern out black lesbian social justice activist." Since 1968 she has been involved in peace, social, racial and LGBT organizing at the local, state, regional, and national levels.
Gay rights activist and the first openly gay candidate for public office in North Carolina, resident of Chapel Hill (Orange Co.), N.C. Collection contains materials primarily related to the 1984 elections. They include correspondence with public officials (among others), articles, and studies. The materials reflect Brown's interest and involvement in the Democratic Party, national legislation, and issues regarding gay rights
The Newsletter. Durham, N.C. : [Triangle Area Lesbian Feminists], 1981-
Educator, gay rights activist, and author of many works on sexuality, identity, and sex education, and the history of homosexuality and the gay rights movement in the United States. This is an enormous collection, comprising 317 boxes and and over 86,000 items. One way in would be to skim one of Sears' books and focus on interviews and other research material related to a topic. This books include Rebels, Rubyfruit, and Rhinestones: Queering Space in the Stonewall South, Lonely Hunters: an Oral History of Lesbian and Gay Southern Life, 1948-68, Behind the Mask of the Mattachine: the Hal Call Chronicles and the Early Movement for Homosexual Emancipation, Growing Up Gay in the South: Race, Gender, and Journeys of the Spirit. Check the Duke University Libraries catalog for more titles and for those available as eBooks.
Material related to Southern Organizing Committee Environmental Justice initiatives and environmental justice work in West Virginia.
Environmentalism Reference Collection, 1970-ongoing.
The Environmentalism Reference Collection contains files of clippings, flyers, announcements, publications, reports and other materials pertaining to environmental matters at Duke University.
ECOS (Environmentally Conscious Organization of Students) is a Duke University and Durham, N.C. environmental activist group founded in 1969. ECOS is also known as the Environmental Alliance.
North Carolina Public Interest Group Records, 1970-1983.
Contains the records of the North Carolina Public Interest Research Group, a social and environmental action student group formed in 1972 at Duke University.
Ron Grunwald Papers, 1973-1980
Ron Grunwald was an undergraduate at Duke University during the late 1970s. This collection contains materials reflecting his participation in student activism movements at Duke University and in the community. See Box 1, folders 3 and 4 for material about the antinuclear Kudzu Alliance and the North Carolina Public Interest Group, respectively.
Atlanta Lesbian Feminist Alliance
Box 15: Pro- and Anti-ERA material, especially in Georgia
Resource Center for Women and Ministry in the South Records, 1939-2018
A non-profit organization, located in Durham, N.C., founded in 1977 for the purpose of providing support for women in ministry, persons of faith working for justice in the South, and religious organizations that address women's needs.
Re-Imagining Collection, 1993-2016
Re-Imagining is an ecumenical, radical, Christian movement focused on creating ways of understanding Womanist, Feminist, Mujerista, and Asian Feminist theologies, and opening spaces for dialogue with the church, diverse religious communities, and the world.
