Allen Building Takeover Collection
On February 13, 1969, Duke University students in the Afro-American Society occupied the main administration building to bring attention to the needs of black students. These needs included an African American studies department, a black student union, and increased enrollment and financial support for black students. This and subsequent events became known as the Allen Building Takeover. The Allen Building Takeover Collection contains announcements, flyers, publications, correspondence, handouts, reports, transcripts, ephemera, clippings, a bibliography, photographs.
Behind the Veil
The Behind the Veil Oral History Project was undertaken by Duke University’s Center for Documentary Studies from 1993 to 1995 to record and preserve the living memory of African American life during the age of legal segregation in the American South, from the 1890s to the 1950s. Over the span of three summers, teams of researchers conducted oral history interviews with more than one thousand elderly black southerners who remembered that period of legal segregation.
Black Student Alliance Records
The Afro-American Society (now the Black Student Alliance) was established at Duke University in 1967, four years after the first Black undergraduates were admitted. The Afro-American Society was a social and activist group created to support students as they dealt with the challenges of Black life at a previously segregated institution.
Rencher Nicholas Harris Papers
African American civic leader during the period following the Brown decision of 1954 and the Civil Rights Movement. Harris was the first African American city councilman in Durham, N.C., and the first black man to sit on the Durham County Board of Education.
Faith Holsaert Papers
Faith Holsaert is a Civil Rights and LGBT community activist. The collection contains correspondence, newsletters, publications, and other materials relating to the activities of Faith Holsaert from the 1960s to the present.
Charles N. Hunter Papers
Black educator, journalist, and reformer from Raleigh, North Carolina. Correspondence, scrapbooks of clippings, print material such as articles and reports, and other papers, all dating from the Civil War into the first few decades of the 20th century. The material discusses and illuminates the problems experienced by emancipated blacks during Reconstruction and into the early 20th century, encompassing agriculture, business, race relations, reconstruction, education, politics, voting rights, and economic improvement for African American
Judy Richardson Papers
Judy Richardson is a veteran of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee who worked in Mississippi during the Mississippi Freedom Summer Project in 1964.
Joseph A. Sinsheimer Papers
Joseph A. Sinsheimer graduated from Duke University in 1987 with an A.B. in History. He recorded oral histories of the Mississippi civil rights movement between 1983 and 1987, with grant support from the Lyndhurst Foundation. Collection includes audio recordings and transcripts of oral history interviews and speeches regarding the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee in Mississippi in the 1960s, with brief summaries. Focus is on the "Freedom Summer" of 1964.
Southern Lesbian-Feminist Activist Herstory Project
Forty-four digital audio oral history interviews documenting lesbian feminist activism in the South focused on the period 1968-1994.
Video for Social Change Collection
Video for Social Change was a documentary film course taught by Bruce Orenstein at the Center for Documentary Studies in the spring of 2014. The collection includes eight interviews, with North Carolina social justice activists James Andrews, Rukiya Dillahunt, Anita Earls, Angaza Laughinghouse, Dani Moore, Allison Riggs, Melinda Wiggins, and Mel Williams.
Records of the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters
This collection is not digitized. It is a microfilm facsimile that is part of the main Duke University Libraries collection. You will request the reels and, when they are available, reserve a microfilm reader/printer in order to use them. There is a laminated instruction sheet near the microfilm machines that explain how to use them.
