Skip to main content

ARTHIST 390S: Feminist Art: Getting Started

Art, Feminism & Gender Research

arthistory

feminist-art1Research on feminist approaches to art embrace nearly every subject area of research.  This guide focuses on art sources and women's studies.  Don't forget to search other relevant library research guides.  Please use your librarians, too!  We're here to help via email, chat and in person.

Rubenstein Riches

Duke's Rare Book, Manuscript and Special Collections Library has untold unique resources.  Because of the nature of its collections, its riches are not as discernable through the Duke catalog as other material.  In addition to doing a search limited to Rubenstein Library, email or query a special collections librarian for a consult on what may be of interest.  RUBENSTEIN SEARCH

Beginnings - Reference Sources

 

Art Encyclopedias

  • Getty Research Portal - Getty Research Institute's collection of digitized art history texts.
  • Humanities Commons (art history section) scholarly open-source materials for the humanities
  • Encyclopedia of World Art - (hardcopy) - older, but longer essays on art topics and issue, half of every volume is plates, may in color
  • Pelican History of Art series, Lilly Reference Room, N5300.P38  - the standard English-language history of art. Good beginning source, bibliography for more information

 

Artists' Dictionaries (biographies of Artists)

  • Benezit Dictionary of Artists - All artists of all places and times
  •  Allgemeines Künstlerlexikon: die bildenden Künstler aller Zeiten und Völker. - In German and in print, but the most comprehensive biographical dictionary of artists.  Lilly Reference N40 .A63 1992

Specialized Reference

Keep in mind that specialized Dictionaries can answer many simple art questions.

Symbol Dictionaries

Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art by Hall, James. (Boulder : Westview Press, c2008.)Lilly Library Ready Reference N7560.H34 2008

Period Dictionaries - Classical

The Grove encyclopedia of classical art & architecture [electronic resource and book]

Decorative Arts

Grove encyclopedia of decorative arts  [electronic resource and book]

Visual Studies Libraran

Lee Sorensen's picture
Lee Sorensen
Contact:
Box 90727
Lilly Library
LSLILLY@duke.edu
919.660.5994
Website

Women's Studies Libraran

Danette Pachtner's picture
Danette Pachtner
Contact:
My location:
Lilly Library
Room 108
East Campus
Email me:
danettep@duke.edu
Call me:
919.660.5886
My areas:
Film, Video & Digital Media; Women's Studies; Southgate Residence Hall

Did You Find What You Needed?