Lisa Baskin placed an early emphasis on the British and American suffrage and Anti-slavery movements in her collecting, and she has an extraordinary gathering of materials related to the fight for equality. The collection includes important materials related to the leadership of these movements--such as correspondence from Susan B. Anthony, Lucy Stone, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Lucretia Mott and Lydia Maria Child--and a significant collection of family papers related to the British Pankhurst and Pethick-Lawrence families.
Prominent SC newspaper editor intimately associated with a range of public affairs including the legislation around suffrage in SC. Papers include several letters from the National Women's Party and copies of his addresses on the subject.
Correspondence and papers, esp. 1915-1916, of Caroline Dansk Dandridge and her daughter, Serena Dandridge reflect their active interest in suffrage and include minutes of a West VA Equal Suffrage Association meeting. Pictured above on right, via Duke University's Rubenstein Library.
Gifford was a journalist and politician. His papers includes several letters (some from Lucy Stone) during the 1860s and 70s and a pamphlet on the woman suffrage mass convention in Augusta Maine, 1874.
The Hemphill men were public figures (minister, editor, politician) and the women were involved in a variety of social organizations. Collection includes several letters (including one from Alice Stone Blackwell) re: woman suffrage from 1894-1910 and several printed items from 1889-1907.
Samuel Blackwell, a sugar refiner and lay preacher, emigrated to the United States from England in 1832, with his wife Hannah (Lane), eight children, and a governess. The correspondence contains mostly routine letters to Blackwell family members from other family members; including Alice Stone Blackwell, Anna M. Blackwell, Elizabeth Blackwell, Emma Blackwell, Helen Blackwell, Henry B. Blackwell, and Lucy Stone. Collection mostly contains research materials for both suffrage in the United Kingdom and the United States.
Charlotte Despard (1844-1939) was a noted English suffragist. She was founder and president of The Women’s Freedom League. The collection contains four letters: three are written in Depard’s hand and signed and the fourth is a Postcard to C.H. Grinling speaks of canvassing (7 March 1903).
Emmeline and Frederick Pethick-Lawrence were British socialist activists best known for their involvement with the suffragist movement. Their home became WSPU’s London headquarters. In 1912, they were arrested along with other WSPU leaders on charges of conspiracy to commit damage after a window smashing campaign in West London.
rances Power Cobbe was an Irish writer, social reformer, anti-vivisection activist, and leading women's suffrage campaigner. Cobbe wrote the first letter to Mrs. Madden, undated but probably in 1886, regarding vivisection along with the poor treatment of horses. She wrote the second, undated, letter to Miss Galtz[?], regarding a planned visit.
The New Family papers is a collection that contains a scrapbook for the 1913 Suffrage Pilgrimage, describing the route from Birkenhead to London. This is accompanied by 78-page narrative of the trip, which is keyed to the photographs in the scrapbook. Additionally, this collection has Alice Margery New's "Suffrage Quotation Book" that contains signatures of suffragists, including those of Constance Lytton and Emmeline Pankhurst, is also present. The Emma Goldman papers are part of the Lisa Unger Baskin Collection.
This collection contains 43 woman's suffrage movement buttons, pins, pencil, and badges, along with a contemporary hair pins tin used to hold 32 of the items. There are materials from suffrage movements in both the United Kingdom and the United States. Also includes two "Votes for Women" souvenir and program paper napkins for a march and a demonstration in London.