Feminist Movements, 1880s to the Present

International socialist feminist grassroots organizer from 1940s to 1980s. Collection documents professional and personal life and includes personal correspondence; extensive subject files on international political and cultural movements; photographs and slides; ephemera; sounds recordings; US and international movement posters from the 1960s and 70s; and more.

Emma Goldman was an anarchist known for her political activism, writing, and speeches. She played a pivotal role in the development of anarchist political philosophy in North America and Europe in the first half of the 20th century. The Emma Goldman papers are part of the Lisa Unger Baskin Collection.

Jessie Daniel Ames began her career in the suffrage and women’s rights movements in Texas. In 1930 Ames founded the Association of Southern Women for the Prevention of Lynching, organizing against lynching in Texas, Arkansas, and Oklahoma and thoroughly repudiating the idea that lynching was a defense of southern white girls. The Jessie Daniel Ames papers are part of the Lisa Unger Baskin Collection.

Labor activist, public relations representative in the South for the Congress of Industrial Organizations (CIO), and resident of Richmond, Virginia, and Atlanta, Georgia.

Collection documents Cowper's life as an active suffragist and as instrumental in the formation and early years of the NC League of Women Voters.

Branch of an international peace advocacy organization founded in 1915; formerly known as the Chapel Hill Branch (N.C.). Contains meeting agendas and minutes, directories, conference reports, group organizing information, correspondence including some with Senators Jesse Helms,John Edwards and David Price, Peace and Freedom, the magazine of the WILPF, legislative bulletins, clippings, an oral history interview with founding member Charlotte Adams, song lyrics, newsletters, videos, photographs, and other material documenting their efforts.

Eleanor Rathbone was prominent in the British feminist movement between World War I and World War II.

Collection consists of 60 small black-and-white photographs dating roughly from the 1930s to the 1950s, belonging to Amy Ashwood Garvey, feminist and activist who traveled extensively and lived in West Africa, where most if not all of these images originated. The majority of the images are portraits of Amy Ashwood Garvey's many male and female acquaintances in Africa, who include female friends, politicians, heads of states, lawyers, and students.

Exhibition catalog surveys the history of women employed as: artists, scientists, book arts practitioners, scholars, social justice activists, authors, and a host of other endeavors. The collection covers five hundred years of women's work through monographs, letters, photographs, ephemeral materials, etc.

If interested in more collections similar to the Jessie Daniel Ames, the papers of Gordon Blaine Hancock, clergyman, journalist, educator, and civil rights spokesman, span the years 1928-1970. Among those efforts was a course he organized on race relations at Virginia Union University in 1922, which is believed to have been the first course of its kind in America. In the 1930's and 1940's, Hancock became an outspoken leader in the struggle for racial equality, speaking at over 40 black and white colleges and universities.

The J.B. Matthews papers relate to the work Matthews' role as Director of Research for the Special Committee on Un-American Activities of the U.S. House of Representatives. This collection contains materials related to the committee's research, including the such as the Women's International Democratic Federation and Women Strike for Peace. Key words to search in this collection are women('s) or the names of individuals, such as Bella Abzug or Angela Davis.