Chemistry

Definitions and descriptions of patents. List of what can and cannot be patented. Includes information for inventors.

Information about patents, including FAQ and searching tips from the World Intellectual Property Organization.

Learn about what a patent is and why patents can be important to your research. (~5min)

Patent and Trademark Research Office at NCSU

UCF's Library guide for searching for patents through the USPTO

A pamphlet from ACS.

Covers over 23 million basic inventions and 51 million patents from 40 worldwide patent-issuing authorities from 1963. DII facilitates rapid, precise patent searching, letting you conduct patent and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering. It combines:

• Derwent World Patents Index® (DWPI)
• Patent Citation Index® (PCI)
• Derwent Chemistry Resource (DCR)

Search for chemistry-related literature, patents, and substance and reaction data. NEW USERS: You must create an account here to begin using Scifinder.

Value-added chemical indexing. List "patent" as document type in search.

Patent and Government Document Indices; Descriptive catalogue of the government publications of the U.S., 1774-1881

Published continuously since 1884, the Reports of Patent, Design and Trade Mark Cases (RPCs) remain the leading full-text law reports in intellectual property. They are published on behalf of the Intellectual Property Office.

The official website provides access to full text and PDF image of U.S. patents and patent applications from 1790.

• For patents issued from 1976 to the present, search by keywords and all fields
• For patents issued between 1790 and 1975, search by date, classification number and patent number only
• Patent applications from March 15, 2001 to date available.

The official and patent database from the European Patent Office (EPO), provides access to 90 million patents from 80+ countries from Europe and Latin America.

The Canadian patent database maintained by Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) in English or French. Search by keyword, patent document number, and patent date.

Free, open-access resource for global patent search and analysis over 100 million patent records from 95 issuing organizations; scholarly search and analysis; and PatCite linking patents and scholarly articles.

Full text of US patents to 1790 plus patents from 17 other patent agencies around the world. Note that OCR for full text may contain errors for the older patents and updates may be slow for new patents.

Need patent number- quick download (PDF) of US patents

Includes 73+ million patent documents and provides AI-based translations tool into 13 languages. WIPO stands for the World Intellectual Property Organization and is a United Nations (UN) agency.